We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all time favorite”
Review of Corner Bar

Corner Bar
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I always have a great time at the Corner Bar. I love their hotdogs and fried pickles. If you are in Rockford you have to stop in. The bar staff is great too.

Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Owner at Corner Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks Matt V. You couldn't give us a better compliment than "An all time favorite". We are happy to have you as a fan and greatly appreciate your patronage. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This our favorite local place. Good food at good prices and a good Michigan beer selection. Great fun atmosphere and good place to take kids. Go at off peak times or you'll wait to get in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelalotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Owner at Corner Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for the review Travelalotz. I hope you visit us again the next time you're in Rockford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The corner bar doesn't have a wide variety of food choices. I am not a fan of the hot dogs. If you do like hot dogs then eat your heart out and try to get on the wall of fame.
I do love their turkey pretzel club. You have to ask for the curly fries instead of the chips that come with it. Curly fries are better then the chips or crinkle fries.
Another must have while you are there is the deep fried pickles. These are so yummy!!!

Thank abronkema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Owner at Corner Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the kind review abronkema. You have great tastes...the Turkey Pretzel Club and fried dills are 2 of the most popular items on our menu. I hope you stop in for another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The hot dogs are a must at the cornet bar. I tried the burrito dogs and they are okay, but I prefer the original with the chilli sauce. The service was great and meals were out quick.

Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Owner at Corner Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you Gregory T. I appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and hope to see you back at The Corner Bar soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Corner Bar has a great small town cozy vibe, and a great walk up window to grab a couple of hot dogs. there is a solid menu of food and local favorites. it's most commonly known for the hot dog wall of fame. if you can eat 12 of their chili dogs in under 4 hours you'll get your name on a plaque that goes on the wall. they also have a "not" dog for vegetarians and the same rules apply! i came a dog and a half away from the wall, BUT i was the first person to make it on the wall for the "not" dogs. the not dogs have a great corn relish instead of the standard chili.

the taste of the hot dog chili isn't my favorite, but when you're there you feel cozy and it's a great taste that adds to the feeling of hanging out in a friendly pub with good company. it's definitely a place to check out if you find yourself in beautiful downtown Rockford.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlohaSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, Owner at Corner Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for the review AlohaSoul. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Bar also viewed

 

Been to Corner Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing