We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful service!”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

The staff here is soooo rude! The breakfast staff with exception of the lady (Vicki) making the omelettes were rude and unfriendly! Terrible!
On Saturday morning, one of the breakfast staff was moping the floors and kept sighing when guest would walk through. She had both sections blocked off and no way to get around.
After breakfast on Saturday morning, one of the staff a young girl, cam to clean the table, my husband and I both said thank you, got no response which on itself I could care less but when my seven year old son says thank you and she doesn't even respond, that's just bad service.
Rude! And unfriendly is how I will remember this stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamipepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffthompsongm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Embassy Suites, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. I truly regret that our breakfast staff did not provide you the exceptional level of service you deserve. I can assure you that I have personally spoken to our staff and guarantee this will not happen again. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    256
    103
    38
    36
See reviews for
304
160
52
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

It is a much older hotel but overall a nice stay. As all. ways with Embassy Suites reception and breakfast were awesome. There are several very good restaurants near by. We will stay here when we return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The shuttle service coming in was pretty slow, and I was somewhat disappointed when I saw the other shuttles going around two, three, four, five times and still no Embassy Suites. I waited about an hour for the shuttle, flight got in at 1740, arrived at the hotel at 1930. I came in from overseas so I didn't have a cell phone to call the hotel. After waiting for 45 minutes, luckily, someone getting on a Holiday Inn shuttle called the hotel for me, and they told me it would be ten minutes. 15 minutes later, they picked me up. Quite uncommon for the brand, I have to say and very frustrating.

Of course by the time I got here, happy hour was over, so no free drinks for me. I then tried to take a taxi and no taxis would bring me here since they would get such a low fare, I suppose, they kept telling me to wait for the shuttle.

The hotel doesn't have the normal atrium set up common for Embassy Suites. Normal corridor hotel. I love the security of the atrium set up, which is how Embassy Suites tends to market it.

The room was fine, plenty of space, although old style bathtub, etc. Shower drain was kind of stopped up with hair, and also the sink in the bedroom wouldn't allow you to stop the drain, old. I was traveling alone, but there isn't a "hard" door between the bedroom and the sitting area, just a slatted door, so not as much privacy as usual. I like the set up of Living room leading to bathroom leading to bedroom, but this one you have the bathoom in the bedroom. Again, not a big deal for solos or couples. Not that great for families who like the two distinct rooms.

In general the room was clean, except for hairs in the bathroom. I think they may have been from the maid, because the room appeared clean, but then there was a hair on one of the towels and one on the bathtub. Perhaps just an oversight, some people would be totally grossed out. Not really grossed out, but again, not really common for this brand to be trifling with hair and stuff in the bathroom.

HIGHLIGHT was the restaurant 8600. I had the dinner special which was an absolute steal for 13.95. 10 oz (my guess) Ribeye with bleu cheese crumbles, huge portion of fries and greenbeans for sides. The steak was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly. The ladies really provided an "at home" atmosphere that was welcoming and not snooty at all.

I would say the shuttle service reliability is a major issue. I need that to be on par, especially since I am just using the hotel as a stopover. But the value is still there with the breakfast, etc. In general, I would give this hotel four dots, however, considering the issues not common with the brand, I'm only giving three dots. So there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsRpacked705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I was really surprised with the accommodations, as I didn't expect much near the airport. However, this place was top notch for $140. Easy to get to, comfortable beds, clean rooms, pleasant staff and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorWester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay here in December of 2012, due to issues at the Canadian Border. The lobby was perfect, the room clean, and the hot tub was HOT, which is a great thing.

The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to find me a King Room.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a mini "getaway", so peace, quiet and a high level of service was important. Nearly everything about this hotel was perfect except one thing, thus the 4 stars. (I'd give it 4.5 if I could)

Check-in was flawless, Steve was friendly and quick. The atrium lobby was beautiful, modern and open with a Cafe, Lounge and plenty of comfy seating.

The one King bed room was immaculate, yet a bit smaller than other Embassys I've stayed in. Bathroom was spotless and amenities were Crabtree & Evelyn shampoos and lotion with large soft towels. The shower was hot with great water pressure. The bed was a little firm for my taste, but the sheets, blankets and duvets were plush and comfortable. My sinuses were a little stuffed after the first night, so they may use down pillows and duvets.

The fitness center had a great variety of clean, modern equipment with water, towels and headphones. The indoor pool was small, but enough to relax in. The whirlpool was clean, hot and spacious.

Nearly all the hotel staff was very friendly. Tyrone, the bartender for the Manager's Reception, was always smiling. Vicki knew how to make your omelette and pancakes perfectly and always had a smile. (She makes waffles Mon-Fri) Cedric was chatting with the guests during breakfast, making people feel at home. Most all the housekeeping staff were smiling and courteous.

The Manager's Reception offered chips, pretzels, nachos, veggies & dip with pop, coffee and a good variety of alcoholic choices.

The breakfast was tasty, with made to order omelettes, pancakes, bacon, sausage, french toast sticks, potatoes & scrambled eggs. Also a nice assortment of breads, muffins, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, and oatmeal. (The OJ was VERY tasty!)

The one large downfall: A kid's hockey team was in town and both kids and adults were VERY loud until 10:30pm. They ran thru the lobby screaming, thru the halls, in the fitness room and took over the pool area. The next morning I asked to have my room moved. Thomas, the Manager went the extra mile and checked everywhere for an opening, to find one on the opposite side of the hotel one floor up. That made a HUGE difference. Embassy Suites: please have more control over this type of inconsiderate behavior or think ahead on where you put these types of groups.

Thomas saved my impression of this hotel and I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher up your room, the more plane noise you'll hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkoize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The employees are the embodiment of customer service. Everything is great; the checking process, the quality of the room, the manager reception which show attention to details. The manager reception was impressive and I never seen one with so much variety. The breaksfast in the morning was oustanding. The lady cleaning tables at breakfast never stop moving to ensure the table were clean for the next guest. She also brought napkins and utensils and set them on the table.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carltosway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
2.5 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Wickham Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#3 Business Hotel in Romulus
#7 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure travelers stopping in Detroit. This Detroit airport hotel is just minutes from the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW) and only 20 minutes from downtown attractions. All accommodations at the Embassy Suites hotel in Detroit, Michigan include a spacious two-room suite, a delicious made-to-order breakfast and nightly Evening Reception*. The Burger Bar is a one-of-a-kind burger dining experience featuring fresh beef, turkey, chicken or black bean veggie burgers, made to your exact specifications. The Eighty Six Hundred Restaurant located in the open-air atrium lobby is an additional option, with in-suite dining service also available. Corporate travelers will find their needs catered to at this Detroit, Michigan hotel. Stay with us to enjoy business conveniences such as Executive Boardroom suites, complimentary WiFi and our BusinessLink™ Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Embassy Suites Romulus
Romulus Embassy Suites
Hilton Romulus
Romulus Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing