We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option near DTW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great option near DTW”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed at this Springhill a half dozen times in the past six months, all evenings before an early morning flight. It is a newer Springhill, and is a great option near DTW. The shuttle service is easy and on time, and the front desk staff are very attentive. I usually take the 5:30am shuttle, and breakfast is already available for me to catch something quick before leaving.

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and even staying on the top floor, rooms are very quiet with not a lot of noise from the airport. MUCH better than the Courtyard down the street. My go to spot when flying out of DTW.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hginphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    114
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
108
65
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Recently our family got stranded by snow in Detroit. We were lucky enough to get a room at the Detroit Metro SpringHill Suites. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating in providing extra towels, toothbrushes, and blankets for our family as we stayed for the night. Shuttle service to the airport is 24x7 and runs every 30 minutes which was great and got us back early the next morning to catch our flight home. Glad the kitchen opened early and we could grab coffee and a pastry on our way out the door. Great job!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gwgfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is an excellent airport hotel. Close to the airport. Free parking. Hot breakfast buffet starting early at 5:30am. The room was very clean and smelled good. The front desk gentleman was very warm, friendly and helpful. If you use rewards points, this hotel is an exceptional value at only 10K points per night. Usually SpringHill properties cost 15K or more.

One drawback - the swimming pool is tiny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atl475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I chose this Springhill Suites because it was almost new and conveniently located near DTW to fly the next morning. It's just meters away from the highway and one exit from the car rental return.
The rooms were new, clean with the modern touch the Springhill Suites have given to them. The king bed was very comfortable and the heater worked perfectly. Also, the WiFi worked great. At night you could hear planes taking off and the train passing by so no soundproof windows I assume.
Overall a very good hotel to spend the night before flying from Detroit metro, great location and good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
432 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The property is very convenient to the airport and highway and is shared with a Holiday Inn that has a restaurant. The Springhill has a bar downstairs with a few beers on tap and some other options but the girl working there was chatting on her phone the whole time. As far as the rooms and building goes, it was the nicest Springhill I have stayed in and the workout room had the basics needed. The price was good for what you got and I would say the overall value was very good for as nice as the rooms were. Felt quite chic especially for a basic hotel. Nice sitting area and desk area semi separate from the bed area. For a night or a few nights, it would be a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel during a recent leisure trip to the area. The hotel is very convenient to the airport and has a regularly scheduled shuttle service. I was especially impressed that the hotel kept the service operational around the clock. Many hotels discontinue their service during overnight hours.

The hotel is very affordable, and the staff is friendly. My hotel room was quite large. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and Wi-Fi is also free throughout the hotel. My room was clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable.

If I have a criticism, it would be that the breakfast area is quite small. When I ate breakfast the food selection was small, and many of the food items were simply gone, leaving behind just empty containers. What was available had to be eaten at the bar or in the hotel room because all tables (not very many) were taken. This is not a big deal. I chalk it up to getting what you pay for. It's a free breakfast.

I would be remiss if I did not mention the hotel's general area. The hotel is located near many other hotels. A few restaurants are within easy walking distance, and several others are within easy driving distance. The staff was good; my room was comfortable; the location is convenient. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in the area. If you need to stay the night before leaving for a flight, you have found your hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
285 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I love the newly renovated Springhill Suites. Great room and great staff at this location. Very nice lobby and breakfast area. I would love to stay here again if in the area. Marriott quality and standards.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhillsuitesdtw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Jeff B. Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to compliment the hotel. I'm glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, not only with the rooms but also with the staff. We strive everyday to go above and beyond the normal expectations, so we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to able to serve your lodging needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Frank A.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus

Property: SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Address: 8280 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1917
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
Springhill Suites Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing