We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights while attending the June NASCAR race. The room was a queen suite, and was fantastic. Spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean. Free wifi, complimentary breakfast, and free newspaper. Staff was courteous. Great location - close to airport. Very nice hotel and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rent a suite. It;s worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed the nice accommodations. Proximity to airport is a definite plus!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepper423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Hotel is not far from airport in an area of close to a dozen hotels. Unfortunately there were only 2 places to eat nearby; McDonald's and Big Boy! Merriman Rd is rather odd, it is a divided highway, thereby requiring U-turns (which I regard as hazardous as many drivers are unaccustomed to them). Room and bath were large, new, and well appointed. Free parking, free internet, breakfast included. Air conditoiner is very noisy with 'high' and "low" settings. It is one of those big units under the window.

Room Tip: watch for a bargain priced room as there are 12 hotels in this area to pick from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I divide lodging into "window unit heating/AC" and "central heating/AC". I'm willing to pay much more for the latter, because window units are noisy, and it affects my sleep. That being said, the Hampton has a window unit and the price at $122 per night is at the upper range of what I'd pay for a Detroit area place without central heating/AC. OK, other than that, it was a very quiet place, the service was good, the breakfast was very good, the place was immaculate, and the shower was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milocat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here as we always do when we are flying out of Metro, we do the stay, park and fly option. As always the staff is very friendlyand the rooms are very clean and well appointed. Even though you can get a room at another property for less, we will always stay at the Hampton because we know the beds are comfortable and the rooms are always clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeNanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel this week as an overnight stay before leaving out of the Detroit airport. The hotel was a very nice Hampton Inn, with all of the amenities at a Hampton Inn, but just seemed a bit nicer than most. The front desk was especially friendly and helpful.

The rooms were average size but had really nice furniture and bedding. We stayed in a rwo queen bed room and we loved it. It is becoming harder and harder to find hotels with two queens as most offer two doubles. Very nice when you are travelling with 2 adults and 2 teens.

The hot breakfast was standard Hampton Inn breakfast, which is usually a step above most hotels.

We used the business center to print out boarding passes, and it was very, very nice.

We loved staying here, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgreen1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

When I called, Jeff was very helpful in explaining the "Park & Fly" option which suited our plans perfectly. This is a relatively new Hampton (replacing the older unit now under another name) and is a bit difficult to locate. The rooms are very well appointed and are very quiet considering the proximity to DTW. The lobby and breakfast areas are large with a good variety of choices for breakfast. The Shuttle service was on schedule and showed up promptly when called from DTW. This was a perfect place to stay before and after our brief one week vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MITraveler307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Address: 31700 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1976
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: £76 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing