We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Nice and Close to DTW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great location being near DTW and I-94, very nice rooms with comfortable bed. Safe place with plenty of electrical outlets near bed which is a MUST. Also a good rate. Everything business travelers desire. Very nice place that I stay at every trip to Detroit area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 862 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
1
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed at this location while on business. My room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was friendly and I would stay here again. The only issue was if you come back to the hotel late you may have trouble finding a parking place and will have to park at the adjacent hotel's parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a beautiful hotel! I especially loved the way the beds faced the windows so you could lay in bed and watch the planes fly by. I was expecting it to be a bit noisy because of proximity to the airport but I didn't hear anything! I'll be staying here again during my next trip. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, too. Way to go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonFawaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hampton does a great job of providing clean rooms with conveniently arranged bedside electrical and connectivity. I logged on effortlessly via dsl cable provided; I did not check the wireless. I found the shower's water temp nice and hot, pressure adequate. The chill-down was fairly quick from a quiet, efficient AC unit. If I must be forced to point to a negative, it's the toilet paper dispenser. The location in my room was to the rear-right of the toilet. It's hard to reach. The breakfast was typical Hampton. Since another reviewer brought this up, I should say I found a Belgian waffle maker in use. If the Hampton Inn breakfasts are not to your liking, there's a Bob Evans nearby.

All that said, here are two very positive firsts for me at ANY hotel. I observed a maid disinfecting the stainless steel of the water fountain on the first floor. I observed the front desk clerk--having no customers to wait on--grab a cloth and proceed to wipe down horizontal and vertical surfaces near his work area. These two candid observations demonstrate that the management at this unit has excellent, hard-working, motivated staff. I was and remain impressed. Because of this, the Romulus Hampton Inn will be my hotel of choice for future visits to the Detroit area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel advertises a hot breakfast with waffles. We normally prefer Hampton Inns partly because of their breakfasts with bacon/sausage and waffle makers. This hotel had warmed frozen square waffles (no waffle maker) and omelets and bagel toppers for their bacon/sausage substitute. So don't expect the Hampton Inn breakfast experience at this Hampton Inn. On the upside, the room was very nice, we could not hear air traffic even though we were under the landing path, and the bedding was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was one of the nicer Hampton Inn locations I have stayed at. Very nice rooms. Open breakfast area. Like most Hamptons, it was clean, well lit and comfortable. Location was very close to airport. Planes fly overhead. That might be an issue for light sleepers. I didn't notice it unless I was outside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltakilo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Me and my wife really enjoyed our stay. Building and rooms were clean and smelled fresh. The décor in the room was relaxing and user friendly. Especially the wall unit with attached desk counter top and microwave and fridge. The lobby was comfortable and the coffee was superb and always hot 24/7. one last but important was the bed which was just right. Me and my wife have busy schedules so sleep and comfort are very important to both of us. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus

Address: 31700 Smith Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1976
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Romulus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#2 Family Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: £76 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover comfort and convenience for Detroit and beyond at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Just off I-94 and I-275, our Romulus hotel is within a mile of Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Take our free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. This hotel in Romulus, MI lies at the heart of Metro Detroit, within 20 minutes of downtown Detroit and 30 minutes from Ann Arbor, Michigan, making an equally great base for the industrial corporations of Motown and the University of Michigan campus. Whether you’re in town for business, to cheer on the NFL’s Detroit Lions, touring the Great Lakes, or simply catching a flight, you’ll find a warm welcome at Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus. Relax in a comfortable guest room with a clean and fresh Hampton beds® and HD channels on the 37-inch LCD TV. Spacious suites feature sofa beds in the seating area, making this hotel in Romulus, MI a great family option. Accessible rooms and suites are designed for comfort. Get to work in the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout the hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose your favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. If you’re in a rush, just grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Consult the friendly team members for local Romulus restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing