We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice place to stay but overpriced”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

not a big surprise- very clean, comfortable and convenient. Enjoyed the bar for a drink and the breakfast the next morning was adequate-nothing to write home about. the staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    84
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
46
39
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petrolia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel to take advantage of the stay, park and fly option. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and efficient, we also enjoyed a freshly baked cookie at the same time! The room and bathroom was clean with everything we needed for our stay. We did notice airplane noise but it was not overly intrusive. We parked the car over the road from the hotel at the parking facility and caught the shuttle to the airport. We would stay here again as it was a good experience and also very affordable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Modern hotel with great contemporary rooms. Very clean and new looking. Beds are very comfortable. Close to many restaurants. Front desk Staff is very friendly and helpful as you would expect for an IHG property. Would recommend if overnighting near Detroit Airport area

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neot HaKikar, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here on a layover to Paris.
Hotel is new, clean, and very nice.
Quick shuttle to and from the airport every half hour.
Free breakfast but didn't try it.Also has restaurant/grill on location, but we chose to walk down the street to the Mediterranean restaurant" The Beruit Grill" for some awesome middle eastern cuisine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jetskrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for a quick overnight business trip. Convenient to the airport, and very nice accommodations. The food in the restaurant was good with a nice selection of beers as well. Also had breakfast next morning was also good. Nice clean, up to date comfortable rooms, and very quiet. Comfortable beds, slept great. Would be my first choice if I need to be back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmosdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I really enjoy this hotel. It is very close to the airport and it is a convenient place to stay. I especially liked the friendly staff. The gentleman Cameron at the desk was friendly and helpful and the waitress in the restaurant Missy was one of the best waitresses I have had in all of my travels. For a hotel on Detroit I was very pleased

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adonic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a nice new hotel. During check-in the front desk staff was friendly but the desk did look cluttered and unatractive to be one of the first things you see at a hotel. The staff also seemed to be a disorganized jumping between work stations to help guests get checked in. The checkin process did go pretty quickly though. The rooms were extremely clean and well decorated. The beds and pillows were also comfortable. The clock was still on the old time and we couldn't figure out how to change it.(staff must not have known how to change it either since the time change was about a month ago.) The walk in shower was also very nice. The restaurant attached also served good food. We had the park-and-fly package which was like only $20 more a night and encluded 7 or 8 days of parking right across from the hotel. The shuttle service that the parking lot offered was very fast and convenient. The park-and-fly package was also cheaper than if we would have had to pay per day at the lot. The two things that I found less then perfect about this hotel is that the staff could have been a little more friendly and smiled more and the computers they had to print boarding passes was very slow but I did like that they offered Macs to use along with pcs. Would stay again when flying out of DTW.

Room Tip: This is less than a mile from the airport so if you are a light sleeper I wouldn't stay in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srichards001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8400 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Romulus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
#9 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing