We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Atrium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a great place to start a trip from the airport. The atrium encompasses the entire hotel ensuring an indoor experience with tall windows along the top so that there is ample lighting. The pool, hot tub, pool tables, restaurant, bar and lobby are all in one large open area. There were a mix of family and couples/singles/business people. The pool is mostly for the children and the hot tub for parents and others. The bar is friendly but some drinks are limited. The breakfast was adequate not that great but slightly above normal for these places. The lobby is spacious and quite nice. The rooms are quite good, no complaints except no fridge but the ice maker worked out just great. Would choose again for travel out of Detroit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loumar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    139
    172
    153
    154
See reviews for
243
149
70
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castroville, TX
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Of all the options by Detroit Metro this might be the most economical. It could be great with a huge indoor entertainment pavillion, but then the hot-tub should be working, the lighting improved and perhaps a few more touches other than turned over chairs, and trash cans. It begs for a water slide.

The room was clean and sufficient. Wireless yes, but it didn't work. It was kind of creepy traversing the endless miles of halls to get to your room. No sign of security.

And BEWARE of the 4 PM cancellation policy. I think many people take a look at the place and head for the door, but this makes it impossible. My last stay at a Best Western until the standardize these policies. After all, isn't that the whole idea?

Room Tip: Face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castrolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hotel not by choice (I missed a connecting flight, and this was the place Delta had a contract with) and now I have bed bug bites on my arms, legs and face. Enough said, I'll stay in the airport next time.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank blackbear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The public areas of this old motel are very impressive, the front desk staff was cheerful and helpful, and the wireless internet worked well. The free shuttle to and from the airport was very convenient. The room had been refurbished, but the faucet leaked all over the pullman, getting our stuff wet. The little room containing the toilet and tub was so tiny that you had to dance around to close the door. The mattress creaked. The yard surrounding the closed outdoor pool was gone to weeds, and the sitting area near the pool was locked and covered with last fall's leaves. Aside from the lobby, the whole place had a seedy, worn-out feel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

A problem with a connecting flight meant being put up in a hotel not of my choosing, but the airlines. (April 30th.) However, I couldn't have been more pleased with the Gateway International by Best Western.

Their shuttle was there to meet us and take us directly to the hotel. The seven or eight of us that were settled there for the night were taken care of by the two young ladies at the front desk in just minutes. There was free wi-fi, a printer to take care of my boarding pass, a half size fridge, microwave and coffee maker, a beautifully decorated room and a most comfortable bed.

The four sides of the hotel surrounded an indoor garden with pool and the rooms that faced the interior (as opposed to the outdoors) had small balconies and chairs to enjoy the sound of the water and the garden setting.

I was unable to enjoy the very pretty restaurant, but Detroit seems to have a lot to offer in the way of history and museums. The Gateway will be at the top of my list when I come through this city again.

Room Tip: See about getting an interior that has a balcony overlooking the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlboyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here after we arrived on a late flight. We appreciated the free shuttle service to/from the hotel. When we came out of the airport, the shuttle was waiting for us. The hotel itself is only a few minutes from the airport. The decor on the inside of the hotel is very interesting. The hotel rooms surround a large indoor area with foliage, an exercise room and a pool. There are flags on the ceiling from countries around the world. I am not sure if it was cheesy or kind of neat.
The room we stayed in was okay. It was kind of small, especially the bathroom, but it was clean. There were no signs of bedbugs or anything. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay before or after a flight, this hotel will do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the location of the continental breakfast. We were in a room close to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsEBandMrVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yale, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was the second time we had stayed at this hotel. I live pretty far away from the airport so usually book a hotel for the night before my flight leaves. Although the hotel is not anything special it was fine for the price (74.00). Staff was very friendly. Room was comfortable. We had a room that overlooked the indoor courtyard. Yes there was a little noise from the kids playing in the pool but nothing overwhelming. I would stay at this hotel again. I cant comment on the breakfast as I had to be at the airport before breakfast was served.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 9191 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1904 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing