We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overnight between flights stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Manchester
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good overnight between flights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Yes, the hotel was like going back in time in the public areas, but the room we had was fine. Reading other reviews, our room must have been renovated recently as it was in good condition. The internet in the room was fine, but poor in the public area. The bathroom was clean. The room was on the 1st floor (ground floor to Brits) and overlooked the atrium. We had a huge king bed, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and board. Hairdryer in bathroom. Decor was rather drab, but we had a great night's sleep. The lobby renovations are still ongoing, meaning a longer walk for people like us with rooms on the left hand side of the atrium. Pool was in use, but the hot tub closed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of selection of hot and cold items. A couple of points to remember if staying here...the inbound shuttle bus is on demand only which we only realised after waiting 30 mins at DTW airport. The outbound is on a timetable, hourly I think. The restaurant was OK but nothing special. It was virtually empty when we had dinner there but it is not open for lunch. A walk outside in overwhelming heat brought us to a Big Boy restaurant where we got a sandwich but they had run out of corned beef and fries....!!! We would stay again as the rate is good and it is very convenient for DTW airport.

Room Tip: Atrium facing rooms may be noisy when the hotel is busy, as they overlook the breakfast area and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zillion50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw23138, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Wyndham Garden- Detroit Metro Airport, I would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your recent stay in the DTW area. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities such as our deluxe breakfast and comfortable beds- your comfort and ability to rest well is very important to us.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return!

Caitlin Brown
Guest Services Manager
Wyndham Garden- Detroit Metro Airport
9191 Wickham Rd
Romulus MI
734.728.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    139
    172
    153
    154
See reviews for
243
149
70
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Worth the money - in the process of some updates when I departed. Overall, it was a decent 3+ star experience. Food in the resturant was good.No complaints, as I got what i expected. Hopefully the indoor pool upgrades are completed by now.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw23138, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that all went as expected during your stay with us, and that you found our services to be satisfactory. Renovations can be lengthy however it has been an amazing and exciting transformation, I am grateful that you were able to be a part of our transition to higher standards. Thank you for allowing me a moment to personally thank you for staying with us!

Caitlin Brown
Guest Services Manager
Wyndham Garden- Detroit Metro Airport
9191 Wickham RD
Romulus MI
734.728.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for one night due to the flight oversold and airline put me in for next morning flight at DTW. This is a big motel and the rooms was horrible. Room door was hard to close and use a lot of force to get it closed. Bathroom was not clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter_B777-300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel prior to flying out in the morning from the Detroit Airport. They have a very good park n fly program which worked really well in the winter for us. They provide you with a free shuttle to and from the airport. You leave your car with them and they park it for you and make sure it's back at the hotel parking lot upon your arrival. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were a few really good restaurants within a couple of blocks. The staff is very friendly and very professional. We hadn't booked to stay when we arrived back from our vacation in Jamaica however we arrived in a snow storm in Detroit. They not only had rooms available, they gave us their jacuzi suite at no extra charge, "very nice gesture". I think the girl could see how tired we were and felt sorry for us :-) They have a free internet service with computers in the front lobby. They have a small weight room, hot tub and pool that looked ok, we didn't use these amenities. Very easy to get to off the major highway. Will use them again and again as their price was very reasonable and under $100.00.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw23138, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest Services-

I just wanted to take a moment to personally thank you for selecting our hotel for your stay. I am pleased that you found our accommodations satisfactory and services excellent, and that we were able to play a part in making your travels successful.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return!

Caitlin Brown
Guest Services Manager
Wyndham Garden- Detroit Metro Airport
9191 Wickham Rd
Romulus MI
734.728.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveport, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one night. The area outside looked kind of creepy. We felt safe inside though. Good size bathroom, huge TV, comfortable & clean bed, super continental breakfast. We got what paid for.
Sadly though, we enjoyed our stay more than the tiny room at four star hotels of chicago where we stayed the night before.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I am not sure if the management has changed or what but it is definitely not what it used to be. Quick points: 1. The internet is terrible. Make sure to bring a mobile wifi hotspot if you plan on doing any work because it is like 90's dial-up over the wifi (that is if you can get it to connect) 2. Don't work out in the fitness center. You are likely to break a bone or catch some form of typhoid 3. Make sure they are done with the renovations so that you can accurately navigate your way to your room 4. If you like shows on FX like Sons of Anarchy, Justified or FARGO... Set the DVR at home because there is no FX. They have the freaking NHL hockey channel but not FX

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw23138, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed that we failed to meet your requirements. We are under going vast renovations and this can cause minor inconveniences, I deeply apologize for those that you faced during your stay. I hope that you will stay with us again so that you enjoy the upgrades that we are doing for guests such as yourself.

Caitlin Brown
Front Desk Manager
Gateway International Hotel
Romulus MI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was booked in here on a voucher from Delta airlines due to a mechanical delay of my flight that caused me to get stuck at DTW overnight. I'm sure this hotel was very nice at one point...maybe three or four decades ago. Everything is very old and worn out. It's like a museum to the 1960's. The brown carpet is ancient. So is the furniture and the bathroom fixtures. There are all sorts of signs of mechanical failure and water damage. I don't think the owners understand the concepts of maintenance and re-investment. Just wow.

On the other hand, the staff seemed very nice and very efficient.

You do get what you pay for and I paid zero in this case. It appears that many of the guests were fellow refugees from cancelled and delayed flights at DTW.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw23138, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Allow me to begin by saying that we pride ourselves in being the number one hotel in the area to accommodate airport distress passengers. We understand how frustrating it can be to bumped from a flight and be unable to be in the comforts of home. It is our priority to provide a warm and inviting atmosphere so I was happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient.

We are currently undergoing vast renovations to include updated public spaces: new high quality floor tile, wall paper, furnishings, paints and carpet- not so 1960's anymore.

I would like to invite you back to enjoy our new look and Brand name: Wyndham Garden- Detroit Metro Airport.

Caitlin Brown
Guest Services Manager
Wyndham Garden- Detroit Metro Airport
9191 Romulus MI
734.728.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 9191 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1904 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wyndham Garden Romulus Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing