We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for our weekend holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for two nights while we were in Michigan for the NASCAR race. We booked a couple months (and paid) in advance and got a great deal that way. We were thrilled with the location so near the main highway, the ample parking allowing us to find a place where our vehicle was visible from the room. The staff was wonderful and friendly, including the housekeeping staff - we met the head of housekeeping outside when we were getting ready to leave and she was genuinely sad to see us go and wanted to know if everything was ok with our room. She was great. On that note, the room was clean and we had everything we needed. One of the window curtains was torn but that would be the only thing that was wrong in our room and that was nothing that impaired our enjoyment of our stay. We loved the fact that rooms had a fridge and a microwave and this came in very handy for us. We also loved the breakfast and took advantage of that both mornings we were there...I especially loved the cinnamon buns!!!! We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to the area...we would even consider looking into the park and fly option as we are looking into flying out of the nearby airport next time we have the need. The QuickPark is right behind this hotel, has a free airport shuttle, and others commenting in their reviews seem to be really happy with the package that this hotel offers so worth looking into. Bottom line...we recommend this Romulus hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Lisa O,

What a great event that brought you here to stay with us! We are delighted to have had the chance to accommodate you during a nice weekend trip and hope you enjoyed the NASCAR Race. It is great to hear about your encounter with our housekeeping manager, she cleans the hotel as if it is her own home! We appreciate your recognition of or staff and all of your kind feedback. We hope to see you again when your ready to take advantage of our parking package.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I purchased park and fly deal. The price was very good considering that the parking is adjacent, you got a voucher for QuickPark parking lot. Very convenient. Cannot be better arrangement. This property is recently (fully) renovated Country Inn (I think). Last year hotel was under a full re-construction. The result is very good. You do not feel being in older hotel, everything is new. To my surprise, the night was quiet, without airport/airplane noise. Well, air conditioning might be quieter, but bring your ear-plugs, or turn it off. Everything else was great: The front desk girl was very pleasant. Breakfast good as in any other HI-s. I will be back to this hotel any time I have to fly from DTW.

Room Tip: Maybe room at the back side of the hotel is more quiet, no street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoweDZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello HoweDZZY,

Thank you so much for completing your review. We are glad you found the parking package to be of value and convenience. We aim to help create an easy & stress free experience for travelers prior to their flight out of the Detroit Metro Airport & from the looks of it , we have been a success! We appreciate the confirmation of your return to our hotel and will be looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and with the sleep, park, and fly package one night stay covered parking at qwik park for 8 days with shuttle service to the airport. Close to several places to grab a bite to eat before heading out of town on a trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jack C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure to provide guests with a clean, comfortable and convenient stay. We are glad our parking package accommodated your traveling needs and hope to have you as a guest next time your in the Romulus Detroit Metro Airport area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine and in a central location. Bed was good and hotel overall fine. The employees however were borderline rude and unattentive. Don't need anyone to be sugary sweet, just pleasant and versed in customer service.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you chose our hotel to accommodate you during your travels. We want all of our guests to feel welcomed as if they are at home when they stay with us and are greatly disappointed you felt otherwise. We are truly sorry you felt any of our staff were less than pleasant as that is just unacceptable. We would appreciate if you would kindly contact us directly regarding your stay. We will look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Flying out in the morning so we booked a park and stay package with the Holiday Inn Express. Pretty slick!!! Booked in advance. Checked into the room. Dropped off luggage. Took car to parking (Kwik Park) for 8 days included with price of room. In morning caught early shuttle at front door and it took us right to the departure terminal. When we came home the shuttle picked us up at the same place as they dropped us off and took us right to our car. Simple!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Detroitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Detroitjb,

We are so thrilled to hear that our park and fly package made your travels at the Detroit Metro Airport simple and stress free! We appreciate the time spent reviewing our hotel and thank you for all of the terrific compliments! We look forward to servicing you next time you are flying out of the Detroit Metro Airport.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had family come in from Hawaii and stayed with us for the week in Holland, OH; the day before they were to return to Hawaii, we chose to stay near the airport to avoid any "unexpected" delays getting to the airport. Selected the Holiday Inn Express there in Romulus and it proved to be a great choice. The hotel was very clean, the front desk staff were all very welcoming & friendly. Even offered to take pictures of the entire family before we left for the airport. If you ever need to stay near the Detroit Airport, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear DaveVickie,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for you and your family before their flight home to Hawaii. We are so thrilled to know that we could play a part in your family gathering, taking a picture is the least we could do to make that moment special! We look forward to serving you and your family in the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay before picking up family from a flight early in the morning. It was very clean, modern, and affordably priced. We had a room with a king sized bed. There was lots of storage, a little seating area with a sectional chair/small couch. There was also a desk area and a flat screen TV that could be moved on the wall to face whatever suited you best. There was a free hot breakfast in the morning from 5:30-9:30 which we didn't get because we were a bit rushed but it smelled really good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a few restaurants near by too (walking distance) which was nice to grab some dinner. My only "complaint" was that the bed was pretty hard (but that is kind of a personal preference) and the pillows, while marked with "soft" and "firm", were not the most comfortable. They also offer a stay/park and fly option with shuttles to the airport every 10 minutes. I will be keeping this place in mind if/when we ever fly out of Detroit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExDTW, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Bri10,

Thank you for choosing our hotel in the Detroit Metro Airport area and posting your great comments. We are very sorry to hear about the comfort of the mattress and pillow, but we do appreciate your understanding of a personal preference. Thank you for keeping us in mind and hope to serve you here again soon!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport

Address: 7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1911 (Formerly La Quinta Inn )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling for business, leisure or a family fun filled vacation, here at the Holiday Inn Express Detroit Metro Airport we have got what you're looking for! Our amenities include free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, hot Express Start Breakfast, fitness center, business center, guest laundry and a sundry shop where you can refresh with snacks and beverages! Guest rooms are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's perfect for lounging around and relaxing, microwaves and mini refrigerators along with Bath and Body Works shower essentials. If you are looking to hold a small meeting/gathering we offer a 10 person max board room for rent based on availability. Due to our close proximity to DTW we offer a wonderful park stay and go package for our traveling guests! Our package includes your one night stay at the hotel along with 8 days free parking in Qwik Park;which is located directly behind our hotel. We provide a 24/7 service shuttle to and from the airport which is operated by Qwik Park. Shuttle pick up and drop at DTW is located at ground transportation level approximately every 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Airport Romulus Hotel Romulus
La Quinta Romulus
Romulus La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing