We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“simply adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Although a bit dated and run down, the room was clean. Many of the guests were airline personnel which does say something good about it. The front desk staff were personable and seemed concerned when told that the alarm clock was stuck on the wrong time, the desk lamp was out, and the ironing board was broken. They had a new clock and ironing board available the next day.

The double bed was a tight fit for two. The free wifi was weak. The continental breakfast was relatively limited and very basic. Overall, an adequate inexpensive clean place to stay.

Apparently, they have a few recently remodeled rooms. We did not have one. Ask for one of those if possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeydad35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    192
    68
    20
    8
See reviews for
180
148
45
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for a quite overnight before an early flight. Things we liked- it was clean.. service was fine, with a shuttle to the airport.
Our only complaint would be that we had to leave at 5:30 and the breakfast wasn't open until 6 and they didn't let us grabanything (we asked) which seemed ridiculous... but for the price and area it was certianly adequate.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lipsforchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We arrived to a VERY pleasant front desk with a lady who was very accomodating and anxious to make sure we had a great stay. We would return here in a heartbeat and would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place to stay close to the airport. Never heard of this chain until now, but will definitely recommend it to anyone. Easy to find, clean rooms, ample space and business center with computers if you need them. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammers_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I have done the park and fly twice in the last two months. I live about 2 hours from DTW so it is nice to be able to stay the night if you have an early morning flight. Both times I paid like 95 bucks and got a week of free parking. The parking lot is right across the street and they have shuttles, owned and operated by Airlines Parking, that take people to the airport. The shuttles were extremely fast and I never had to wait. My flights were early 6:15 and 5:30 AM respectively so I was there at non peak times. If your flight is at 5:30 that means you are probably at the parking lot by 4:00 or 4:30 AM. The Lexington hotel is not going to win any four star awards but, I found it to be comparable to most Holiday INN type hotels. The staff was great and everything was clean. Their continental breakfast is small and is the usual fair for cheaper hotels. Some bagels, cold cereal, and doughnuts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crash1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at the Lexington for one night after a long journey from the UK.

The hotel has a free shuttle - look out for the mini-bus marked 'Airport Connections'. The shuttle serves several hotels, the Lexington being the last on our journey. We arrived at the transit centre about 9pm and had to wait quite a while for the shuttle to arrive - probably about 20-30minutes.

The check-in staff were very friendly. I returned to the reception for pizza menus later, and they were very helpful.

The room was large and comfortable. The TV had cable. There were vending machines throughout, and all doors are internal.

The breakfast spead was the usual selection of coffee, juice, cereal and pasteries. Just enough to start us on our onward journey.

The shuttle back to the airport in the morning needed to be pre-booked at the front desk.

I would recommend the Lexington - just be prepared to wait a while for the inward shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here two nights. Was a Hampton. Room was large, spacious with big desk. Comfy bed. Amenities were :(
Only gave a bottle of shampoo and two bar soaps. Close to airport, reliable shuttle. Friendly staff!!!
Next door to Bob Evans. Air conditioner kept the room very cool! Rumored to be turning into La Qunita!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yale, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed here the night before an early flight to Denver. When we arrived we were greeted nicely. The beds in the room were very very small. It was tough to get a good nights sleep because my boyfriend and I were practically sleeping on top of each other. The wall paper on the wall was gouged and peeling.

They offered Free wireless internet in the room so I brought my computer. I was unable to connect to the internet with my computer (I have never had a problem anywhere else). We called the front desk to get some help and was told "there is a business center upstairs" no help to fix the internet connection problem. I was never able to connect to the internet.

In summery, It was cheap and we stayed less than 12hrs before my flight had to leave but i would not use this hotel again based on the size of the beds in the room (2 double beds) and the problems with the internet

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 30847 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Detroit Metro Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Romulus
#5 Business Hotel in Romulus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED TOTAL HOTEL MAKE OVER IN PROCESS - SCHEDULED TO OPEN EARLY JANUARY 2013. We have free high speed wireless internet - free continental breakfast - free airport shuttle - fridge & microwave in every room - outdoor pool. Suites are available as well. Pets can stay too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Romulus
Romulus Hampton Inn
Lexington Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing