We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Motel, Poor Shuttle Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Motel, Poor Shuttle Service”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We used the Park, Sleep and Fly service. The motel is new and clean. I will not stay at this motel as long as Gateway Shuttle is the provider for the airport shuttle service. When booking we were told the shuttle ran every 30 min. We also verified this at check in for our return and we were told the shuttle runs regularly. On our return we waited over an hour for the shuttle which never did come another shuttle brought us after seeing us waiting so long. When we got back to the hotel the night clerk informed us after 6pm you need to call for the shuttle. This information would have been nice to have on the return trip. Not that it is anyones fault but to add insult to injury our car was keyed in their parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    194
    68
    20
    8
See reviews for
183
151
47
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Delightfully appointed rooms but don't expect good service. They act as if they are doing you a favor and are neither helpful nor friendly. What a shame because this is a beautiful property. I stay at La Quintas often and one of the reasons I love to stay there is because their staff members are so friendly and helpful. This is second stay at this particular property and both times the service has been lacking. I gave them the benefit of the doubt the first time, but since we've been treated this way twice now, I'm not sure we will be back. It takes so little to be friendly. I will say that the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, and well decorated. This hotel is beautiful and upscale compared to other La Quinta hotels we've stayed in, but the lack of friendly service ruins the experience for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've stayed in worse hotels, but there are better ones. Ants in the bathroom. The clerk was very apologetic and gave us another room. It was clean. I understand that continental breakfasts are limited in choice, but it was very limited.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tajtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel was very nice, room was very comfortable. Right next door to the Airport Parking which is a great place to park.... Breakfast on the other hand was weak to say the least. The continental breakfast bar choices were few. The toaster waffles were horrible, not any good (healthy) choices of cereal and no fruit bar. Would have given an excellent review if you step up with a good breakfast before catching that early morning flight!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed overnight before early flight in a.m. No complaints- room was clean, quiet and shuttle service prompt to Delta terminal, only being a few minute drive. Price was decent and would stay here again. Very easy to locate hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

wonderful! They could improve on their continental breakfast but everything else is stellar. Would love an indoor pool, but that's okay. Literally across the road from parking, very nice shuttle quick easy airport access and 25% of the cost of airport parking, but just as convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

stayed as a park/sleep/fly..room was spacious and nicely updated. Staff was good. On site parking also good. Morning breakfast was lacking. Only warm food was if you toasted something or nuked it...zero protein items...cereal option was corn flakes...no yogurt....fruit consisted of a banana. Overall the price was great---stayed for $20 if you priced it for just the parking alone at Airport Parking which they gave you a coupon for. .which covered 8 days..and was right across the street.
Parking at the DTW airport itself is $20 a day so that would be $160+. So it is a great deal but they need to upgrade the breakfast options. Heard the staff explaining that they had limited foor as the truck had not come in yet...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired-Lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.2 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 30847 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239 (Formerly Lexington Hotel at Detroit Metro Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Romulus
#5 Business Hotel in Romulus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED TOTAL HOTEL MAKE OVER IN PROCESS - SCHEDULED TO OPEN EARLY JANUARY 2013. We have free high speed wireless internet - free continental breakfast - free airport shuttle - fridge & microwave in every room - outdoor pool. Suites are available as well. Pets can stay too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Romulus
Romulus Hampton Inn
Lexington Hotel Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing