We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Four Points in Romulus several times in the past few years. I have reviewed the property, generally favorably, previously. No more. The Four Points is one of many mid-range hotels in Romulus. The only reason to stay in any of them is to get a good nights sleep before or after a flight. In the past 12-18 months the Four Points has really gone downhill. First, it is tired and worn - desperately needs an upgrade. Second, the food used to be quite good - no longer the case.

Finally, on our last visit they put us in a room next to one where maintenance was being done. The VERY LOUD maintenance began at MIDNIGHT and lasted two hours. This is inexcusable and shows poor management and staffing. When told the next morning about the problem the front desk person sad she was sorry and knew maintenance was being done in the room. Compensation...nope!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troll999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear troll999,
We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay at our hotel due to noise. Upon further investigation we have confirmed that no maintenance work was conducted at night. We will be undergoing a renovation in our public spaces however this work will take place during the day. We hope that you’ll come back to see our new look and give our TAPS restaurant another chance. We sincerely hope the rest of your stay in the DTW area was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    72
    44
    24
    20
See reviews for
44
51
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dearborn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

For a period of 1month, I stayed few nights a week in the Four Points Detroit Metro Airport and almost every stay I had problems. The duvets are never washed and on almost every occasion, I had to ask (sometimes beg) for clean sheets, I even found a blood stain on one of them one time. The bathrooms are dirty (hair in bath tub) and awful smell in some of the rooms.

On one my last stays there, one of the employees there (Michelle) asked me to adjust my attitude and hung up the phone on me because I was disputing a mistake on the bill. Jason is extremely rude but the worst of them all is Rose, the assistant manager of the hotel. She has a very non caring attitude and, very sad, she thinks that reimbursing me with points will make problems go away.

Rose never addressed the blood stain on the duvet, the overall uncleanliness of the rooms, and the unprofessional staff.

I will never stay at this hotel. Please do yourself a favor and stay at the Hampton inn just down the street. Competitive rate, clean rooms, no blood stain, and very friendly staff at the Hampton inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liban0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear liban0214,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. We clearly did not meet or exceed your expectations. We take cleanliness very seriously and have confirmed with our team that each of our duvets are clean and devoid of any stains. We sincerely hope the rest of your visit in the Detroit area was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

When we checked in the staff was prompt & we had no issues.The room was clean & nothing was broken. The front desk called our room about 10 mins after check in to see if all was well, cool. We had a coffee maker & a frig. Nice bath amenities. Shampoo, cond & body scrub all were in dispensers on the shower wall, nice. Only issue was wth the elevator. The door closes way too fast. My husband couldn't make it out after me with our suitcase. We timed it at about 10 seconds open before it closes. Also, the towels were abit skimpy but we survived that. The beds were comfy & for once, we didn't need to use our own pillows.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I recently went through Detroit and had to spend the night b/c of Mechanical problems in our Aircraft. I stayed at the FourPoint and was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanness of the room. Brian at the front desk was very accommodating and understood how bad my trip was and went the extra mile to make me feel welcome and at home. Once I got to the room it was very clean and the bathroom was clean. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear WorldT,
We really appreciate your comments, thanks for sharing! We're delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us in spite of your weary travel day. We hope you'll come back to see us should you be in the Detroit area again. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarville, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The small rooms were very tired and worn. Fortunately the only reason we stayed here was a place to crash before and after flights. Otherwise there would be no reason to stay here. The price was not that great for what we got. Despite proximity to the airport, they really are not setup for late night arrivals. The furniture in the hallway had torn up fabric on the arms and the carpet was dirty and worn. Sheraton/Starwood needs to do bit of a make-over here. Next time we ned to stay at DET Intnl we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solascmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear solascmark,
We are so sorry that you and your family didn't enjoy your recent stay at Four Points. We will be undergoing a renovation to improve our property and hope you'll come back to see our new look. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Recently my family used the Four Points by Sheraton for our family reunion. The hotel and staff were exceptional! Everyone enjoyed their stay and commented on how good the food was in the hotel restaurant (it was great having it open late). I had some of the best fish tacos ever! Kudos to everyone from the cleaning staff to the ladies at the front desk. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Cherie A,
Thank you for your glowing comments! We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations during your recent stay and family reunion with us. We hope you'll come back to see us and enjoy our fish tacos in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I booked this hotel using my Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty points and was surprised at the value for the price (5000 SPG pts per night). The hotel lobby and hallways were visibly dated but still clean. The front desk staff were friendly and the rooms themselves were up to date.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N3WT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear N3WT,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations, staff and overall value. We hope you'll come back to see us should your travels bring you back to DTW. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8800 Wickham Road, Romulus, MI 48174-1905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport. We're just minutes from the Henry Ford Museum and the greater metropolitan Detroit area where you can experience all Detroit has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
4 Points By Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
Four Points Hotel Romulus
Four Points Romulus
Sheraton Romulus
Romulus Sheraton
Romulus Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing