We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Quiet Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stay here few times a year. Easy access to the airport on your return trip home. Their executive lounge is on the 4th floor and has nice breakfast, appetizers
and desert during the day and night. Hotel is old but the rooms are nice and clean. Hotel has airport shuttle every 20 mts. Will be going back to this hotel next month.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_MountainLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    155
    88
    34
    14
See reviews for
76
65
38
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Needed a room last minute for one night. Booked on Hotwire 1 hour before arrival $54.00night.
Staff very friendly, room clean and comfortable. Noticed the selection of TV channels was not extensive. Single serve coffee maker in room. Really liked the lighting at beside. Only complaint was there was an exhaust fan in bathroom which did not have any on/off control. It ran all the time and was noisy. We solved the problem by closing the bathroom door, and that muffled it. If I had paid full price for the room I would have been frustrated by this!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed one night for business and needed a DTW location.

The good: arrived early and my room wasn't ready (I did not expect that it would be.) The front desk allowed me to use the Concierge lounge until it was, which enabled me to work in a quiet place. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Reasonable rate (although not as low as the "name your price" mentioned below.) Internet connection was solid. Complimentary breakfast in the lounge (because I have Marriott status) was good.

The not-so-good: your standard "old school" Marriott, which is more than adequate but not special. The room was clean and in good repair. My frequent gripe: why don't they have an outlet on the nightstand to charge my cellphone?

Bottom line: solid business hotel with good access to DTW.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKHuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is good for is location close to the airport but that's about it if you compare it with the price you pay. The food in the "restaurant" was really bad, not tasty at all and didn't feel very fresh either. There was a certain noise from the washing machines room ongoing not so far from my room, and what it is unconceivable, the room was dusty! If I passed my finger on the desk, it really turned black due to the dust layer on it. It is not normal to pay more than 100$ a night for a dirty room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rociodeviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Convenient location and got a great "name your own price"(45 FYI) The room was clean and the bathroom appeared to be remodeled. The bed was very comfortable. Overall though, the facilities are old and starting to show their age. Wallpaper peeling and old decor in the common areas. The pool was nice and was clean, but the hot tub was low on water and pretty hot. I gave it 4 of 5 bubbles for the value I got. But I wouldn't classify this as 3.5 stars. Id say closer to 3 or 2.5. If you can get a room for under $100 you'll probably be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Not amazing but very nice. Business oriented and close to the airport. Room was nicely updated and comfortable. Got a great price on Hotwire!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had no problem with the hotel itself and the rooms, but the restaurant closed very early and the property isn't within walking distance of much. I'm trying to figure out how Marriott owns four properties essentially within a mile of each other and expects (1) people not to be confused (2) an airport shuttle every 30 mins to suffice and (3) all these properties to stay in business.

As you might guess, I got off the shuttle at the wrong property (Courtyard, which is literally next door). I waited in line only to find out I was at the wrong place. The shuttle driver could have done a better job telling us where we were and that there were four stops. I also could have paid attention to where my reservation was!

I'm staying at the courtyard in a couple weeks, so I'll let you know which is better. This place was fine in the rooms but kind of boring otherwise. Conceirge level breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plecostamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
2.4 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Property: Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Address: 30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing