We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was here for two nights and parts of three days for a meeting. If you have to be stuck inside an airport hotel meeting room, the staff at the Marriott makes it as pleasant as possible. The staff was friendly, responsive and on top of all our needs. Big thanks to the shuttle driver that took our group of 10 off property for dinner one night. This isn't a resort property for sure, but great for meetings when guests are flying in from all directions.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room that faces the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldly Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    161
    92
    34
    14
See reviews for
81
67
41
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel did it's job. It was comfortable, clean and the staff helpful. I did not expect it to be a room worthy of an extended stay and it was not. The staff helped ensure we had the shuttle arranged for the next day and were friendly and helpful. A good place for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We always stay at the Marriott when flying from Detroit and find it to be clean and the staff friendly. The convenience to the airport and being able to get through security through the hotel itself is a nice bonus!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxCanada54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is fine, nothing more and nothing less. I was in a ground floor room which faced the driveway so had zero privacy and had to keep the curtains closed. The room was very small and the lighting was not adequate. There were very few TV channels but the room was clean.
The restaurant on-site is fine with friendly staff but the front desk staff was very impersonal.
This would not be my first choice for a DTW hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room smelled musty ,the room was dark not enough lighting. The bed sheets were dingy,the pillows was old and stained, the area behind the tv had a lot of dust . The bathtub did not look clean on the bottom . Just not what I would expect from a Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheabuttergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Everything about this hotel is up to Marriott standards, except their internet service. I've stayed here three times, but unfortunately won't be coming back. The rooms are nice, they have a digital connection box for the TV for HDMI, etc.. and the service is very good. Unfortunately I use the internet a great deal when traveling, and the internet access at this location is, to put it nicely, sub-par. When it does work, it's slower than dial-up. There are time I've just given up and tried to use my cell phone instead. I've had this experience with multiple computers, over multiple stays. It's not me, and other reviewers have noticed the same problems with their internet.

If decent internet connectivity is at all part of your travels, stay far away from this location.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our third stay at the Marriott at Detroit Metro Airport. Obviously, we like this hotel!

The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The beds are extremely comfortable and it is extremely quiet given that the planes literally fly over the building! This is not the most convenient location to downtown Detroit with all the crazy road construction but it is a great value for a very nice hotel.

We did not use the pool/hot tub this time but have very much enjoyed them the last two visits. They are clean and in their own covered building. I also like how they have the room set up with the a little entry area. I really think this cuts down on the outside noise one hears while sleeping/relaxing.

The only complaint I had this time was the worn carpets in the hallways. If you have never stayed here before, this very well may make you think the hotel is less nice than it really is however, nothing in our room was worn or out of place at all! Like I said, almost perfect!

Room Tip: Since this is our third stay I can say we have not had a bad room, but as always I recommend staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Metro Airport
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Property: Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Address: 30559 Flynn Dr, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing