We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good, room ia clean abd spacious enough, the bed is pretty good too with nice pillows. Got a good deal, so i believe that the price was really adequate to what they offer. We really recomend this hotel, and it ia really close to the airport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    156
    89
    34
    14
See reviews for
79
65
40
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel generally looks a little sad and worse for wear, but that wasn't really a problem for me, as I wasn't trying to impress anyone, and it seemed like the worn carpets were kept clean.

The service had a few rough spots, but they made a good effort to correct the glitches.

I arrived in a rather full shuttle, and there was only one person at the front desk checking people in. They should have been able to coordinate and know to be prepared for that shuttle arriving. Eventually, more staff came out, but not after having people waiting for check in for a while.

I asked for a quiet room, and the agent chose what she thought would be good for that, but what I got was a first floor room at the end of the building that is right next to an interstate highway. The good news is that when I went back to the front desk to complain about this a team of two different agents willingly and apologetically found me another room much further from that source of noise. When I got to the second room, it had a noisy, always-on ventilation system in the bathroom, and was definitely worse than the first room in that regard, but at that point I decided to close the bathroom door, put in my earplugs, and get some sleep rather than go wait at the front desk again.

Bottom line – the staff is very willing to help, but it's better when they get it right on the first try, like in the Hilton I'm staying in now.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuctrohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I was really ready to blast this hotel for being outdated and in need of repair but the customer service totally made the difference in my stay. Max has been working in the restaurant downstairs and is really an awesome guy. Well traveled, speaks five languages and has a great sense of humor. Betsy at the front desk was also super friendly.

The price is right, the location is within a few miles of the airport and the customer service is why I give it four stars. It needs a facelift for sure but the staff is doing great with what they have.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff of this property were most accommodating to our hockey team event. They were gracious and so welcoming and the parents walked away thrilled to have stayed here. Amazing breakfast and great location.
A special thank you to Krystal and Sherri for all their help with our group booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I travel a lot. I stay in lots of Marriott's. This year over 100 nights. Is this the best Marriott I have ever stayed in. NO. One of the best I remember was Bucharest Romania. Truth be told I have never stayed in a bad Marriott. Its a solid chain. There is a reason they largest hotel chain the world. So with that said, let me tell you what I think about this Marriott.

1. Great Place to stay near the airport. The rooms were a little small, but well appointed. Clean, with all the things you would expect.
2. Check in. When I checked in I was dealing with a trainee, she was awesome. Also the people watching over her. I felt very welcome.
3. Shower heads. Were small. I wish it was bigger, but the flow was powerful.
4. Concierge Room. Small. But the person working there was very nice. It felt very comfortable
5. Restaurant in Hotel. Ha' Penny Pub. The service was outstanding. It you like pub grub you will be very happy here.

Overall a great place to stay near the airport. I would come back. Price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was here for two nights and parts of three days for a meeting. If you have to be stuck inside an airport hotel meeting room, the staff at the Marriott makes it as pleasant as possible. The staff was friendly, responsive and on top of all our needs. Big thanks to the shuttle driver that took our group of 10 off property for dinner one night. This isn't a resort property for sure, but great for meetings when guests are flying in from all directions.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room that faces the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldly Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel did it's job. It was comfortable, clean and the staff helpful. I did not expect it to be a room worthy of an extended stay and it was not. The staff helped ensure we had the shuttle arranged for the next day and were friendly and helpful. A good place for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
2.6 mi away
The Westin Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Metro Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Metro Airport Marriott

Property: Detroit Metro Airport Marriott
Address: 30559 Flynn Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Romulus
#12 Business Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Metro Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ** Newly Renovated ** Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel combines convenient location with friendly staff to create a one of a kind Detroit hotel experience. This Detroit Hotel offers a wealth of amenities including wireless high-speed internet, 37" flat screens, fitness center, and indoor swimming pool as well as complimentary airport and area shuttle within 3 miles and on-site parking. Located close to IKEA, Henry Ford Museum and University of Michigan making us an ideal choice for your next stay. Enjoy fine cuisine in the newly redesigned Restaurant and Bar or order room service 6AM-11PM. The Detroit Metro Airport Marriott Hotel will also help you plan your next business or social meeting with ease and flexibility in one of our fourteen meeting rooms occupying 6,600 square feet. Whether flying into Detroit or looking for an escape from downtown, the Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) Marriott hotel is uniquely suited to meet your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Detroit Metro Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Detroit Airport Hotel Detroit
Marriott Romulus
Romulus Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing