We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly is the best value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
273 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Truly is the best value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed at Americas Best Value Inn for 1 night. How can you beat the price? $100 for a decent nights sleep, 10 days of parking, continental breakfast, and free shuttle to and from the airport 24 hours a day.

Room was decent. Nice queen size bed, Flat Screen TV with cable, mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, along with a parking space right in front of the door.

If you are sensitive to sounds waking you up. Bring a cheap pair of ear plugs because planes fly over at all hours. What can you expect though? You are very close to the airport after all!

Car was parked in a very secure gated lot.

Great location right of Merriman Rd very close to Metro Airport.

Would I stay here again? Yup! Its cheaper to stay here for the night and get a good night sleep than pay for 10 days of parking onsite at the airport and have to wake up and drive there 2-3 hours earlier.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowling_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    105
    61
    17
    18
See reviews for
72
122
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The rooms are not the greatest and it is so close to the airport that it can get a little loud if you don't have the furnace and/or air blower going. The mattresses had a few springs that were bad. Outside of that, the coffee in the lobby was really good and they have a few more options (above and beyond continental) breakfast. It is included in the rate. The shuttles leave every half hour for the airport. Our stay worked out well. We will stay again for the convenience.

Room Tip: Keep the fan on at night to help drown out the planes taking off and landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGarrison41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
669 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked this to spend the night in Romulus prior to an early morning flight and to utilize their shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms were clean but one of the bedspreads had some substance on it that we preferred to not think about; we removed it from the bed and asked for a blanket. The blanket was readily provided but was in pretty rough shape. The front desk clerk was very, very busy; however, that could easily be dependent on time of arrival. As for the shuttle....when it was time to board the shuttle, they announced they had only one available parking spot so travelers were trying to decide who would take the spot and who would leave their keys. Everyone was in the lobby at least 15 minutes before the shuttle time, so I'd suggest in the future, they announce this before everyone is getting on the shuttle. Also, the driver was simply rude and drove erratically. I foolishly tipped him then wondered why. The driver on the return trip was better. I would not say don't stay here or don't utilize their shuttle but be aware there are better options.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here before flight to myrtle beach. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, bathroom was very basic, it was noisy up until about 10pm when the flights stopped buzzing the hotel. Great value though for a family to stay and have parking for a week plus transport to airport and breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stumbled upon this motel when I had car trouble on my way to the Detroit Airport (DTW). Instead of taking my flight I decided I needed to cancel my trip and stay where I was until the next day at least. This was the first motel I came to. I did not have the usual credit card with me and the night desk clerk was very helpful in allowing me to make alternate arrangements. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and recently remodeled, giving it a very spacious feel. I was fortunate in getting a room with a microwave and fridge which made the 4 days I was stranded there far more comfortable.

There were times when plumbing and other noises came through from neighboring rooms, but generally it was quiet and I felt safe.

I thought the room and accommodations were good for the price and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Before reserving this hotel for a 3-day business trip I read up the reviews. They were mostly positive. Turned out to be true.
Pros are - Close to the Airport, call them after you arrive (from airport phone if needed - cost 50cents) and the nice shuttle bus with friendly driver comes over in less than 10 minutes. The motel is part of or adjoining a plaza that has several nice dining options. Rooms are quiet and reasonably cozy. The breakfast at the reception is not the best but works, everything fresh, and given the price point cannot complain really. The coffee machine serves hot coffee 24x7 complimentary (a blessing really in the cold). The 'big' lady at the reception is very helpful and went out of her way to reserve our cabs for the business visit. She called more than one company to find the best deal. That is, what I would call, over the top HELP.

Cons ?? - If you keep the price point in perspective then none really. But check out the room tips. And yes this is an 'airport' hotel so don't expect not to hear the sound of planes!!

Net Net good experience and will certainly consider coming back if needed.

Room Tip: The rooms are in 5 'strip' buildings behind the main reception building. The buildings are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avi_GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments and we are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed this past weekend for a overnite getaway. Booked one of the whirlpool rooms which was very inpressive. The check in was quick and the person was cheerful. Reserved the room over the phone and got a good rate, but once I checked in and used my best value inn membership card, the rate was even less and better yet. Only drawback was, after filling whirpool full of water (which at most hotel) take forever, pushed the button and it didn't work. Called the front desk and there was not a mantiance man on property, so she switched us to another room. Slight inconvience, but that room and tub worked fine. Like the recent remodeling they have done along with the new flat screen tv's, they should have the full cable channel selection instead of just 30 they offer. Will most assued return for another great getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romulusrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other travelers and are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. Also, thanks for your input on the hot tub and TV stations, we always like to hear things that we can improve on. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 7600 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing