We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park and fly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here one evening prior to our departure out of Detroit. This hotel lived up to the ratings on tripadvisor. We arrived and our room was ready, she scheduled our shuttle, and suggested a place for dinner. This is a different type of hotel in that you park outside your room. Made it very convient for packing and unpacking the car. The parking lot was full when we left so I was a little uneasy about leaving my keys but my car was safely parked when we returned and the shuttle driver had the keys ready to go. It was a quick commute to the airport and we were picked up promptly when we called for pick up. We left too early for breakfast but everything seemed clean and organized. Would stay here again if need to do the park and fly again. We did get 10 free days parking which is what we needed. A lot of the other hotels only included 7 days parking.

Room Tip: This hotel is close to the airport so I believe you will hear that noise in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here with my family, but it was a cheap park/sleep/fly option before my flight. Waited about 20 mins to check in while no one was at the desk. Outdoor entrances to every room. Decent breakfast, near the airport and the fly parking is connected to the hotel lot. It was good if you want cheap...serves a purpose.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank garci1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful as was the shuttle driver. The room was very clean and updated. The bed was comfy. The thing we liked best was that all rooms were on the same level so no steps or hallways..On the bad side the internet service is rotten. We had a laptop, Ipad and phones and we kept getting kicked off. Very frustrating...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI48174, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The front desk and shuttle staff will be happy to hear that our guests are satisfied with the services provided. We do apologize for the inconvenience of having internet problems, we will have our management staff handle this issue right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed there with there sleep, park, fly package, Rooms were great, very clean, check in and out was great, and shuttle was quick and on time. will use this hotel whenever we go away!! Rooms were also newly updated!!

Room Tip: Great restaurant next to this hotel within walking distance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monicasomes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI48174, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you! We appreciate seeing that our guests are very happy and comfortable with our hotel. We enjoy having you, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice comfortable rooms situated behind the office in a cottage style setting. A comfortable bed ,a desk for laptop use, and a table used for reading, etc. was great. The bathroom was clean and the entire room looked as if a lot of care was taken to clean it. It is close to many places so is very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IllinoisBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feed. Our staff will greatly appreciate hearing that our guests are happy with our service. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A huge surprise for the price...one story cottage type buildings adjacent to strip mall and accross the street from other restaurant just 5 minutes from the airport. Picked us up at 1 am no problem, make your own waffles in the am, free computer to print boarding pass and save a day on rental car by picking it up the morning after arrival and turning it in the night before.
Rooms are freshly painted with new carpet and it was super clean.
Shutle driver at 1 am was a peach and the front desk fellow was too.
Nothing but good...yes, bldgs are a bit old, but insides are great and the driver was sprucing up the flowers at midnight to help make it look nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us here at Americas Best Value Inn Metro Airport. We value each customer and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I had booked this hotel as part of park and fly. Had called twice to confirm my reservation --in a non smoking room. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant, courteous, and had us checked in within a few minutes. Off we went to our room. As soon as my son opened the door, a blast of cigarette smoke hits us! Obviously the previous occupants in the room were smokers, or else we were given a "smoking allowed" room. On requesting a change of room, I was informed that the inn was 100% full. Not a single room was vacant. Anyway, the receptionist sent over a driver to spray our room with a lemon scented spray (which does nothing to the stale smoke smell). The room was spacious, clean, clean washroom, very pleasant staff. Airport shuttle was on time.

Room Tip: I would suggest confirming a non-smoking room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with you had with us, we are sorry that there was an issue with the smell of smoke. We are finding more ways to prevent guests from breaking the rules, therefore keeping our rooms smelling clean. We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 7600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1911
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing