We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have now stayed here several times when flying out of Metro in the morning.
Staff is courteous and polite and rooms are clean and comfortable.
You can park right in front of the room so bag handling is easy. All rooms are at ground level.
Beds are comfortable and breakfast is ok.
it is well worth the amount paid for the convenience alone as you can avoid the airport normal parking hassle if you choose the slep and fly package!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    103
    60
    17
    18
See reviews for
71
120
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

First time staying here and it was just Ok. Got in early evening B/4 an early morning flight. Had problem with the toilet not flushing correctly and running. By the time we got back from dinner we just decided to deal with it. Hotel didn't appear to be busy but put in the very last building in the back. Probably will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudahy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've never been impressed or thought we stay at another ABVI after a few bad experiences with the chain. But we believed TripAdvisor's recommendation and booked it for a few nights before seeing it and have not at all been disappointed. The room is very nice and clean. And the bed is one I hate to get out of. The lobby and lobby staff are very warm and friendly. The breakfast is comparable to other hotels' breakfasts. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st floor - we were assigned a motel style room that was very convenient with our own en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnittingNut53110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here one evening prior to our departure out of Detroit. This hotel lived up to the ratings on tripadvisor. We arrived and our room was ready, she scheduled our shuttle, and suggested a place for dinner. This is a different type of hotel in that you park outside your room. Made it very convient for packing and unpacking the car. The parking lot was full when we left so I was a little uneasy about leaving my keys but my car was safely parked when we returned and the shuttle driver had the keys ready to go. It was a quick commute to the airport and we were picked up promptly when we called for pick up. We left too early for breakfast but everything seemed clean and organized. Would stay here again if need to do the park and fly again. We did get 10 free days parking which is what we needed. A lot of the other hotels only included 7 days parking.

Room Tip: This hotel is close to the airport so I believe you will hear that noise in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here with my family, but it was a cheap park/sleep/fly option before my flight. Waited about 20 mins to check in while no one was at the desk. Outdoor entrances to every room. Decent breakfast, near the airport and the fly parking is connected to the hotel lot. It was good if you want cheap...serves a purpose.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank garci1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful as was the shuttle driver. The room was very clean and updated. The bed was comfy. The thing we liked best was that all rooms were on the same level so no steps or hallways..On the bad side the internet service is rotten. We had a laptop, Ipad and phones and we kept getting kicked off. Very frustrating...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI48174, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The front desk and shuttle staff will be happy to hear that our guests are satisfied with the services provided. We do apologize for the inconvenience of having internet problems, we will have our management staff handle this issue right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed there with there sleep, park, fly package, Rooms were great, very clean, check in and out was great, and shuttle was quick and on time. will use this hotel whenever we go away!! Rooms were also newly updated!!

Room Tip: Great restaurant next to this hotel within walking distance!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monicasomes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVI48174, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you! We appreciate seeing that our guests are very happy and comfortable with our hotel. We enjoy having you, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 7600 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is a newly renovated hotel with up to date guestrooms and amenities. Our guestrooms offer coffee makers, hairdryers, full size ironing board/iron, microwaves & refrigerators. A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning in our lobby. We are located 1 mile north of Detroit Metro Airport and only 15 minutes from Downtown Detroit and its many attractions. At Americas Best Value Inn we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, but what makes our hotel different from the rest? At Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport our Lodge, Park and Fly Package is what separates us from the rest! Americas Best Value Inn-Metro Airport is the only hotel licensed by the City of Romulus to offer on premise long term park. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Hotel Romulus
Howard Johnson Romulus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing