We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very outdated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Michigan
Level Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very outdated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed here because of the park and fly feature. You do have to go elsewhere to park however and pay over 7 days. The beds were uncomfortable, flat and hard. Run down facility without an elevator, (which they don't tell you when you book it.). Food at this facility was also inferior.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    108
    80
    50
    52
See reviews for
71
110
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Not a great place to park. Just about OK to spend a night.

The staffs are very nice and helpful though.

The hotel needs some clear signs for ease of finding the room. No elevator makes it with luggage.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

Was not expecting much for the price I paid. Very Very surprised with accomodations from the moment I walked into the hotel until I left. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet. Resturants, bar, and other services at hotel are well worth the money. Am used to staying in Hilton's and Marriot's (sounds a little snobby but I like comfort) but will be staying at more Clarion's in the future. I travel about 80% of the time and am advising my assistant to start using this hotel to save money but give me all the comforts I want. Worth checking out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

This was not what I would expect from a Clarion. I've stayed at Super 8's that were nicer. I would have rated this a notch higher if it were not a Clarion. The room was outdated and had a large iron burn mark on the carpet. The heating system was outdated and difficult to get to the right temperature.

I booked for a "Park, Sleep & Fly" package. The price was amazing ($5 more than parking alone would have been. However, upon check-in, instead of me parking at Airlines Parking (a secured lot across the street), I was told the car was to stay at the Clarion lot. This was not acceptable and the reason I took this deal was because of parking at Airlines. Not only is that lot secured, but their vans are constantly going to/from the lot (vs. the single van from the Clarion). After showing the clerk my hand written notes that I was told "Airlines", they let me park there.

Upon check-in, we stood for 5 minutes waiting for both clerks to finish entering data in their computers before they would check us in.

Finally, if you are put on the 2nd floor, don't expect an elevator (this is not one anywhere in this hotel).

The free continental breakfast was above average. Checkout was very smooth.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

I've stayed at the Clarion in Romulus about 8 times. The combination of price and amenities coupled with overall cleanliness of the hotel makes this hotel my choice when staying near the Detroit airport.

This hotel is not without flaws. The decor has not been updated in about 10 years or so, and the wall paper in one of the rooms I stayed in could use some repair. I do not consider these to be serious problems, but I mention them because some people may find these to be show stoppers as far as to what they may consider in an excellent hotel.

I would have no problem recommending this hotel to friends and family. It is located in a safe well lit area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makersmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Trying to fly out of Detroit to Nashville and the flight was canceled - Delta provided these accomodations rather than fly us out at a scheduled time (for what reason I still do not clearly know).
The staff was fine, but everything else was lacking; the bed had this crazy angle on it - probably someone had been bouncing on it for hours. My feet were above my head. It was a little comical after the fact but I just couldn't stay because of the noise, antiquated furnishings, and filth.
Decided at 11pm to leave, take the shuttle back to the airport to retrieve my vehicle and then drive to the next closest Holiday Inn (which I was familiar with) for a short sleep before my flight left the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

This hotel REALLY requires maintenance on the rooms. It appears that the public areas were recently redone but our room definitely was not. Smoke detector literally hanging by a wire from a large hole in the wall...mold EVERYWHERE, curtains filthy, etc, etc. With so many choices at Detroit Metro, I would definitely pick something else!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmielou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Metro Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 26 in Romulus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Detroit/Airport-Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport
Address: 8600 Merriman Rd, Romulus, MI 48174-1918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel in Romulus, Michigan; recently renovated with a New Lobby, a New Elevator, All New Guest Rooms, a world class restaurant and bar, and a New Pool. Conveniently located just 2 minutes from DTW airport. Other amenities include a complementary 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airport, complementary wireless internet, microwaves and refrigerators in room, and a complementary breakfast included. We welcome you to come and experience the Clarion Hotel's commitment to your complete satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Romulus
Clarion Detroit Metro Airport
Clarion Romulus
Romulus Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing