We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time not as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Roseville
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second time not as good”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in late August and early October. In August, I was pleased with the value of the room. It was clean and everything worked well. The hotel was filled with bass fishermen that were in a local tournament. Being a fisherman myself, we enjoyed the insights they shared and they all respected the hotel. When we returned in October, the other "residents" were a bit "rough" and we did not feel comfortable walking the grounds. I will say that the front desk help/management is awesome and if you give them a chance, they will do all they can to make it right. The Inn's proximity to the LSC is great, but they seem to have quite a bit of competition in the area - may be worth spending a few more dollars elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the St. Clair Shores Red Roof, we appreciate the feedback. I’m glad that you found our hotel to be a good value and, as you mentioned, we are a perfect fit for the sport fishermen with our proximity to the lake. Fishermen also appreciate our outside entrances so that boats can be parked near their rooms for after-hours charging of batteries and prep work. Our guest’s safety, security, and comfort are of utmost concern to all of us and we regularly tour the hotel grounds as part of this effort. If other guests make you feel uneasy, just notify us in the office so that we can investigate. All of us here thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our future guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    41
    14
    15
    14
See reviews for
35
30
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Employees are very personable and helpful. Rooms are always in superb condition and extremely clean. Superb location based on restaurants, shopping and easy freeway access. This is the prime area for entertainment. I would definitely bring my family back here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellzWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We read the reviews and were happy to stay at a place that accepted our dog. The room was clean, however the smell of smoke was very hard to take. It states this Red Roof is 100% smoke free, which maybe true, but it appears former some rooms that permitted smoking have not been fumigated. It was like sleeping in an ash tray. When we returned home all our clothes had to be washed and luggae placed outside. We thought we could endure the smell, but looking back we should have asked for another room or simply left.

Room Tip: Please make sure you verify your room before you purchase. Our room was towards the far back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSUFAN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I'm very sorry to read about your less than stellar experience with us at the St. Clair Shores Red Roof; I wouldn't be very pleased either if this had happened to me. Although this should not have occurred in the first place, I do wish that we would have had the opportunity to get you situated into a fresh, odor free room before you spent the entire night in the room that you did. Should your travels bring you back to the area, I hope that you will give us another chance to shine and provide you with an amazingly fresh and clean room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The ratings while I was reviewing kept switching to "Excellent". My ratings are as follows:
Overall Property rating 4 (for a Red Roof Inn chain)
Cleanliness Above Average
Rooms Average

We did not wish to spend a lot of money on a hotel since we were getting in late for an early morning conference. I read the reviews of all the hotels in the area (and there are a lot of them) and this place had the best ones; For price and for cleanliness.

We were not disappointed. Although our room was very small it served our purpose.Nothing fancy...no hairdryer, no coffee pot, no refridgerator. But for the price it was just fine.

Oh...It surprised me that they had an extensive room service menu. We didn't use it but the food was offered from an off-site restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms were outside entrances, motel is two stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'd like to thank the staff off the Red Roof Inn for such a great experience this past week. Due to hectic out of town work meetings, the staff made sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. Fantastic service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eodet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Was in town for work and after having a bad experience with another hotel the night before the two days that I stayed at the Red Roof Inn were perfect the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean.. will definitely come back...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtboytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was my first time being in the area for work and I have always been a fan of the Red Roof Inns in my other travels, so I decided to stay here. The Inn was extremely clean and the employee were very professional, as well as catered to my wishes without exception. I can say without a doubt when I travel back I look forward to staying at the Inn again, as the professionals made me feel right at home. Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbowers757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseville
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit/roseville
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Roseville
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit Roseville
Hampton Inn Detroit Roseville
#1 of 2 in Clinton Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
6.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Warren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores

Property: Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores
Address: 31800 Little Mack Ave, Roseville, MI 48066-4526
Region: United States > Michigan > Roseville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Roseville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Detroit St Clair Shores Hotel Roseville
Red Roof Inn Roseville
Roseville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing