We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to try this one”
Review of Inn Season Cafe

Inn Season Cafe
Ranked #5 of 202 Restaurants in Royal Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award winning vegan and vegetarian gourmet cuisine. Pioneers in the Farm to Fork movement, in business since 1981.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Got to try this one”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

There is no other like Inn Season! Fresh organic goodness! So hard to choose what to have because everything is so delicious! My favorite is the weekend brunch with incredible pancakes, veggie burrito scramble and tofu scrambles that are so yummy! We have some gluten intolerant folks in our family and this place has lots to chose from for them. Plan on a bit of a wait but its definitely worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daystar40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    39
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poor Management but Good Food”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have been eating at Inn Season since 1983. I agree with Grace P that the restaurant was much better under the previous owners, George and Sarah. The food it quit good, but several of the hostesses don't seem to understand the concept of customer service. A few of the waitresses are great, a few are not.

One evening we went for a special celebration. We patiently waited for over 30 minutes for a table. When the hostess went to seat us, we asked to have one of the empty booths. We were told we couldn't have a booth because it would "mess up her numbers the rest of the evening". Surprisingly, two parties of 2 ahead of us were given booths. I felt so bad, as if the hostess did this on purpsoe so we left.

A few months before that, we arrived early to avoid waiting. We were seated, and given the lunch menu while the tables surrounding us were given the dinner menu by the same hostess. TOa dd to our frustration the waitress could not be troubled to refill tea, or check on us. She was too distratcted by a baby at the adjacent table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Taste The Difference”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've been coming here for years and have never been disappointed.

The mushroom soup is just perfect. Filling. Fresh. Fabulous. Follow by the Class Stir Fry, just can't go wrong. You get a lot of value for the meal, It is really tasty because it's so fresh. Vegetables are delicious and still crunchy complemented with rice. Sliced mushrooms are in the miso sauce and wonderfully delicious.

Today, I skated in with no problem. Weekends are a different story. Huge lines. Totally worth it. The size is just perfect.

Atmosphere is clean, light woods, bright and relaxing. Wait staff takes care without disturbing.

Safe parking. Clean restrooms. Great for adults.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StepOnBusTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good - Used to be better”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have been going to this restaurant since it opened almost 30 yrs ago. I admire their use of whole, natural, foods and I am grateful that there is health food restaurant such as this in RO. However, it was a much better restaurant when it was owned by George, the previous owner. For instance, they have on their menu that their pizza crusts are "Tuscan Crusts" made with corn and fennel as well as other natural ingredients. When George owned it, this crust was fantastic. You could really taste both the corn and the fennel. Now it tastes just like a whole wheat pizza crust and you can't taste any corn and fennel. Also, on occasion I have gotten their pizza's and they have had way too much sauce on them. The service is great, and has always been. And I like the atmosphere although it is loud in there. Not the place you would go to for a business meeting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food for every palate!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious! Absolutely terrific. I had the Cashew Ginger stir-fry (and will be finishing it for lunch today). Stir-fry was recommended by our server and did not disappont! Other parties had the burgers and said they were quite good. Nice atmosphere too. Other reviewers were right, there's a huge line! Worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 276MarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inn Season Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Inn Season Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing