We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good food”

National Coney Island
Ranked #39 of 198 Restaurants in Royal Oak
Cuisines: Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a pretty hopping place, and highly rated coney in metro Detroit. The food is consistently good and the atmosphere perfect to catch up with friends while breaking bread.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great place to take the whole family.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Nobody has better copies than Michigan and the best place in Michigan is National in Royal Oak. Great atmosphere and fun for kids of all ages.
The dogs are right up there with downtown Detroit but the service is better as is the food.
Fast, efficient, fun, fine food for five or however many.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Say It Isn't So Joe What a spot to people watch and have great food late night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I just moved to MI. My partner hits this spot all the time. Joe the MGR is great always friendly and makes the place a great spot for the young kids. food is fresh and cooked to order size is big and plenty. staff is fast place is spotless it is now my reg spot to chill out have a Ice Cream Floats
Vernors or Root Beer and pass the time

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
474 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Taste of Detroit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Big and bustling place. Fast seating, fast service. Great chili dogs...they snap when you bite into them with good coney chili. My husband isn't from the area and it was his first experience at a Coney Island...loved it. Large and varied menu if you don't want a coney dog.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsnobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first visit to this particular National Coney Island, but it was so good I had to let Tripadvisor know that they exist. We were in the area and wanted something to eat, namely breakfast so we stopped. The restaurant was very busy, but we got a seat in minutes. Melanie came over pretty quick and since we pretty much knew what we wanted, we ordered our coffee as well as our breakfast. We settled back and expected a wait since the place was almost full. We didn't have to wait very long at all, because there was Melanie with two plates of food, She had already delivered our drinks.
I always say it is pretty hard to screw up breakfast, but this breakfast was better than most. My wife just got eggs, hash browns and toast, I got the Big Breakfast Special. We both asked for crisp hash browns and even with the crowd, we got what we asked for. Melanie got us re-fills as often as we needed them and all went very well.
When we are in Royal Oak, we will go back, for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheHuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Coney Island also viewed

 
Royal Oak, MI
 

Been to National Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing