We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time Coney dogs”
Review of Athen's Coney Island - CLOSED

Athen's Coney Island
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old time Coney dogs”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Of course we had to have a coney! Hard to find a good coney dog. Athen's was good but they are doing the same thing other restaurants are doing, skinnier and smaller dogs for the same price or more. Coney craving does not happen often but should maybe try another coney stand like Joe's in Birmingham, MI

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dash126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bryan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local place with flare!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for something local, inexpensive, and fun! We found it at Athens Coney Island! Great 50's dinner atmosphere, hot dogs were excellent and service was friendly and fast! The husband had the Coney dog and i had the Athens dog and we were not dissappointed, both were tasty. We would definetly eat here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in the Area.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great place for quick inexpensive meal. Love the coneys and greek entrees. I recommend having two. Always fresh. Love the reto street car look.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“HOT DOGS LOVERS TAKE NOTE”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great hot dogs with or without the works which I believe the locals call Coney's a busy spot with good food and fast service

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reliable diner.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Good for breakfast. Good omlettes. Good hash browns (not greasy). Good french toast. Good service. If anything is wrong, speak up and they will fix it quickly. Usually busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athen's Coney Island also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing