We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good aspects but a few notable drawbacks”
Review of Sleep-ees Inn

Sleep-ees Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleep-ees Inn
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Some good aspects but a few notable drawbacks”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our last trip to Saginaw and area (Birch Run & Bronner's) for shopping was about 2 years ago and we stayed just down the street at another motel. It was passable but not in good repair and some of the linen wasn't really clean. (I don't know what it's like now.) On that trip, I stopped by here to preview a room and the Sleep-Ees seemed much better.

The best part of this motel is the price. If you book directly with the motel it's a real bargain. Unfortunately, they had a whole block of rooms reserved and only one or two rooms left. So our first night was in a double-twin room. After that we switched to a queen room which was a little nicer and even cheaper.

This motel is popular with working men -- construction types and truckers. Unfortunately, our first night, there was a truck plugged into an outlet and parked right outside our room; the truck had a noisy compressor cycling off and on all night long. Really messed up our sleep.

Our second and third nights were in the room next door. The room was in slightly better repair but the air conditioner was noisier. The trouble is that you need the air conditioner just to give some ventilation. Neither room has a window that can open and there's no exhaust vent at all -- even in the bathroom. It gets really stuffy. Besides that, the mattress was rather cheap and well used.

The one other problem is that this area is a long way from anything. Yes, there's a Bob Evans and a Meijer and a Home Depot almost across the road but most other things you might be interested in (the interstate, malls, Walmart, the better restaurants, arena) are at least a 15-minute drive through town.

Just a note: the door locks are the old-fashioned Yale-type, not the more modern high-security electronic ones so I recommend not leaving valuables in the room. It's just this kind of lock that was broken into when I was with a friend in a motel several years ago.

The proprietor was quite friendly and accommodating. It's fairly clean, has a nice TV and a fridge and microwave. (A guide to the TV channels would be nice.) The best part is the price. But, due to the ventilation and mattress situations, on our next trip to the area, we'll probably stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: This is a long/narrow building with rooms on both sides and perpendicular to the road . Book well i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_and_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,384 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this small, local, mom and pop motel. The owners are very nice and friendly. The place is kept very clean. Rooms are somewhat small and cement block and it can feel a bit claustrophobic. Everything worked well-TV, remote, lights, door locks. Beds were very comfortable. No alarm clock-they need to provide those! Bathroom towels good, good shower pressure, hair dryer. Very nice, large flat screen TV. The one thing they need to change is the curtain that is hung over the small window. It is a floor length window, but the curtain doesn't move! And it is hideous! If it moved along the curtain rod, you could get much more light into the room. Small breakfast needs provided. Easy parking. Lots of nearby fast food restaurants, and a Bob Evans restaurant, along with a Meijer.grocery store. A nice frig and microwave are in the room, also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I liked staying here. For the price the room I have been staying in has remains well cleaned by the staff. The owners are really nice and when I forgot to pay a week later they where just like no problem. My bed and linings get changed daily. Clean elling and worth the price

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddml32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This motel is older but is kept up very well. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a nice 32 inch flat screen tv. In addition to soap and shampoo in the bathroom they also provide mouthwash, lotion, and a shower cap. The mini-fridge and microwave are a nice touch. They offer a basic continental breakfast that consists of cereal, yogurt, bananas, a variety of pastries, as well as coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and two different kinds of juice.
The motel is near many restaurants and stores and it is only a short drive to the downtown area.
If you are looking for a basic, clean place to stay in the Saginaw area I highly recommend the Sleep-Ees Motel!

Room Tip: For the best rate reserve on the Magnuson Hotels website and use the Promo Code: STAR5000.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmm316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great little motel for the price!! First off this is not an upscale 1st class motel, if thats what ur seeking you need to look elsewhere. What this is, is a great little family owned motel, did I mention was $40 bucks for a Saturday night? The lobby is small, but the host was very friendly, room and bedding were very clean, room is a little out dated, has a 32" flat screen tv with lots of channels, and did I mention was only 40 bucks? They have a basic breakfast in the lobby in the morning. Biggest issue we had was the faucet handle in the shower was in need of repair, and took a little time to be able to get the temp right. Wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I made this reservation like anyone else it had good ratings and a good price. When we arrived the check in office was small and was a little cluttered, but clean. a very nice Indian woman greeted us and checked us in. I have to say this was one of the cleanest motels I have stayed at. Everything was spotless and included a nice 40" flatscreen TV with plenty of cable channes to choose from. We had a nice sized refridgerator, a microwave and fair sized bathroom. The outside of the hotel was clean as well and under going some nice upgrades.
Although the rooms was rather small it was adequate for us and the beds were comfortable. There is a free mini breakfast too and that was ok too. I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are on a single level so no worries about hearing foot steps above..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nearpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Grayling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was expecting a lot worse, but for only $35 a night it wasn't bad. I've stayed in big name chain hotels that were in worse shape and had worse customer service yet cost a whole lot more. The room appeared clean. There was a newer flat screen TV. Couldn't hear any road noise from my room. My only complaint was the faint smell of smoke when I walked in the room. Most likely whoever had it before me ignored the "No Smoking" sign. The building is a little old, but not a dump. Honestly, what do you expect for such a low price? I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyrisFlare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saginaw hotels
4.6 mi away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
7.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Saginaw
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Saginaw
Super 8 Saginaw
#12 of 23 in Saginaw
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep-ees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep-ees Inn

Property: Sleep-ees Inn
Address: 8125 Gratiot Rd, Saginaw, MI 48609-4876
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sleep-ees Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Sleep-ees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing