We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A last resort...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Saginaw - Frankenmuth
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“A last resort...”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The staff was helpful and accomadating.
The area made us nervous, but overall seemed fairly safe.
We had a large redish/brown stain on the matress. (It basically looked like someone had been killed in the bed.) Thankfully when we expressed our dissatisfaction to the manager they replaced the bed with another one. They stated it was a "red pop" stain, but I've seen those before and it didn't not seem like the right color.
I will only stay here again if there are no other options!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msb_2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    6
    4
    19
See reviews for
6
9
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We arrived late in the evening - too late to find another hotel! We have never stayed in a Motel 6 as grungy as this one. There were dead bugs on the hotel lobby floor and outside the lobby door. Our room seemed clean enough but the bathroom was in need of an update about 5 years ago. Rusted bathtub, flooring not kept well. We did not use the bathtub or shower because of this. The pillows were flat and didn't make for a very good sleep. It is located right near the highway and was convenient, but this was truly a case of you get what you pay for. I would still recommend the Motel 6 brand to my friends, just not this location. We definitely would stay at another hotel if we went through Saginaw again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saginaw hotels

Central PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We are taking a 4000 mile motorcyle trip from Pennsylvania, and this was our first hotel stop. The place was basic, clean, and adequate for a nights stay. Bathroom and sheets were clean, beds were comfortable, and the only noise we had came from a guest who couldn't take the time to walk up the stairs to speak to his friend early in the evening. We only paid $51 with tax, and felt this was a great value. The motel is located close to the interstate, so we could get on our way first thing in the morning. The only downside was we had to travel several miles to find a place for dinner....ended up at a Cracker Barrel one exit south on the highway.

  • Liked — Low price and proximity to interstate
  • Disliked — Limited food nearby
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
426 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

I was apprehensive after reviewing this hotel on this site, but, after my stay, I was more than happy.

Yes, the neighborjood is run down, especially the empty mall across the street, but, this renovated ex-Red Roof is in good shape, is well lit, and is a great value. I paid less than $35 including tax.

If you're doing the Frankenmuth thing you'll probably be disappointed. But if you want a clean, safe, place at a great price this is your best bet in this area.

They are back from the road, are fenced, and a guard was on site patroling the parking area at night. The guests drove a collection of Escalades, LaCrosses, Yukons, and other late model higher priced vehicles.

Yes the door says to bolt the door - as it does at every Motel 6 and at any responsible hotel. Get past the feeling of fear and enjoy a great value.

The Taco Bell is new and very nice, the McD's good for breakfast. The M6 is much nicer than the BW, Super 7, and the former Roadway Inn next door.

  • Liked — Price, clean rooms, fireworks show at night
  • Disliked — Empty shopping center across the street
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2006

Before booking at this motel we read the one review posted and thought, as long as it's clean we'll try it. It was cheap and we wanted something affordable so we could do some shopping at the outlet mall. When we got off the highway we right away thought it seemed quite desolate and rough. The motel looked decent from the outside so we thought why not give it a go. The room itself was very worn (old carpet, holes in the sheets) and smelled strongly of air freshener, but we checked the sheets and they were clean and there weren't any obvious signs of dirtiness so we decided to leave our stuff and go out shopping in Birch Run. As a side note there was a sign by the door saying "For your protection lock and bolt door". We stopped in at Guest Services at the outlet mall to get some area information and because my husband had a bad feeling about the motel and the area it was in in Saginaw he asked at the desk about it. The lady right away said it was not a safe area, but that we'd likely be okay if we kept our door locked. She also said because it was cold and rainy weather that increased the chances of our being safe, but also said we'd be better off switching hotels. This did not sit well with us at all and we decided to go get our things and find a different place to stay. We ended up on Tittabawassee St. in Saginaw off the 675 at the Four Points Sheraton- we highly recommend it! Very reasonable price, extremely clean and comfortable. For your safety we recommend NOT staying at the Motel 6 in Saginaw.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravnBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2006

Well if your going to Frankenmuth or Birch Run and don't want to spend the money on a hotel or motel then Motel 6 in Saginaw is for you. We enjoyed the great staff and the well kept room. Its only 15 minutes from Frankenmuth and Birch Run and right next to the expressway. The only thing bad that I can say is the mist style of shower they have in the rooms. The free ice from the ice machine came in very handy for our cooler. We enjoyed our stay and Motel 6 had a great price and location. And our price was 49 dollars a night tax included in that price. Our vacation was great and so was our stay at Motel 6, and we look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Liked — Price, for what you get it is excellent
  • Disliked — the mist style of shower
  • Tips/Secrets — 15 minutes from Frankenmuth and Birch Run
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle98012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saginaw
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
4.9 mi away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saginaw
5.4 mi away
Super 8 Saginaw
Super 8 Saginaw
#12 of 23 in Saginaw
233 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bridgeport/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Saginaw - Frankenmuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Saginaw - Frankenmuth

Property: Motel 6 Saginaw - Frankenmuth
Address: 966 S Outer Dr, Saginaw, MI 48601-6504 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Saginaw - Frankenmuth 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Saginaw - Frankenmuth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Saginaw
Saginaw Motel Six
Saginaw Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing