We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Rooms & Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I went out and bought a can of Lysol to spray the room. It was dirty, was afraid to sit on the bed.
Hotel is very run down, needs a lot of maintenance. Staff is not polite, they argue back with guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

I'm a foreigner and I stayed here for a few days I was to spend at a conference. The people treated me very good. They were knowledgeable and helped me many times. Showed me where I could get something to eat, called cabs for me, and always were courteous. This place for the value was good for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

You can tell that the owners are trying to fix the hotel up. The smell of new paint is in the hallways and my room. The front desk answered all my questions about where I should eat and go for a great night out.Not bad for the price I paid I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelguest28512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A former Best Western turned into a Best Value, Honestly if this is the way the new company bought it I don't blame BW for selling it. It was kinda run down. But, the room was clean. The staff was very courteous. The Continental Breakfast wasn't too bad. There was ample parking for big rigs. We were traveling cross country and just needed a place to crash. This worked. May I suggest you ask to see your room first.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toyoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Ok we stayed the weekend here. I could not cancel or get a refund due to booking thru yahoo. First it stinks next our bathroom was dirty on the soap rack, the beds suck, hot tub didnt work, and to much chlorine in the pool i had to flush my eyes out and could not open them for several minutes. Toilet seat in our room was broken. Wall paper falling off the walls, stains all over. The games in the pool area are all junk! No net on the ping pong table. Also when u shower the water drains slow. And the lockers in the pool area looked like they have not been cleaned in months. Not a place i would stay at again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy49783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

First, I want to say the staff here is friendly and they try to help you. That being said, this hotel needs an overhaul. The lobby and pool area seems okay, however, the rooms need to be redone and hotel needs to purchase much-needed supplies. There are stains everywhere (floor, beds, couches, ceilings, towels, etc), and our room did not have blankets and bedspread.(Fortunately we use our own blankets and pillows when traveling). Water in tub took hours to drain after showering. There is a lounge in the Hotel and on a Sunday night there was thumping music until the early hours. With some TLC and some room renovations this can be a convenient hotel as it is right off from I-75 in Saginaw and convenient to those traveling to and from the UP. I hope they really make an all-out-effort and make this a good place to stay. Good luck!

Room Tip: Poolside Rooms are convenient to the pool. There is a lounge int he hotel, so if there is a party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallybeecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Don't go here, I mean it. went to check in at 3:00 - multiple rooms. most rooms not ready until after 10:00 pm. Was with a group - here is what we collectively experienced. Smelly, musty rooms, sewer flies, dirty sheets, blood on a pillow, visible stains on walls, carpets, beds, ceilings, boxsprings. Cigarette burns in comforters, and windows. Rooms not cleaned yet but keys given any way, those rooms waited hours to be cleaned. Not enough towels in rooms, towels that were there were scratchy. broken elevator, keys given to new customers even though rooms were occupied. Cold water not working. At check in, pubic hair on used soap in shower, dead skin and nails on sink counter. gunk on sheets, sheets appeared to have been used, many threadbare. no mattress covers, so when you lifted the sheets to check for bedbugs, all stains were clearly visible. No sprinklers in the event of fire. Is this place even up to code? Should it be reported to the health department? broken ice machines, worn and old across the board. probably the worst neighborhood in Saginaw. I understand the red roof inn down the street is host to drug dealers and prostitutes. That was all this place was missing to complete the picture. I feel bad for the people that work there. They try to help but the product they have to sell you is just awful.

Room Tip: keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassymouthsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saginaw hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Saginaw Hotel & Suites
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
5.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saginaw
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Saginaw
Comfort Suites Saginaw
#8 of 23 in Saginaw
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South

Address: 1408 S Outer Dr, Saginaw, MI 48601-6633
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South Hotel Saginaw
Best Western Saginaw
Saginaw Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing