We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for people with high standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you plan on staying here you need to keep in mind this is an older hotel that has not been maintained as it should. However our room was clean, it was very inexpensive and even included a continental breakfast. Plus the whirlpool and pool area were nice. Unfortunately we felt the slight dip in our bed and the heater was noisy. The hallway had an odour and the elevator showed signs of decay.

Room Tip: Request a room that backs onto the atrium so you can view and access the pool area from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed at this location several times. It is an older hotel but has a great layout and wonderful staff. The beds are comfortable, the continental breakfast is a great start to the day, and the staff is very accommodating. We look forward to many more visits.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the best but rooms on the outer walls are quieter when events are going on. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here on family vacation one night.. If this the best Americas has to offer, we are indeed in sad shape. The Inn is in desperate need of a major overhaul. The wallpaper is turning brownish. The elevator made so much noise we were afraid it was going to break down. The only working Ice machine is on the first floor. We went for the free continental breakfast, they did not have enough power to run the toaster in the outlet provided so I moved it to one next to the coffee. There was no butter and when I went to the front desk was told "Oh yeah we ain't got any more". I did manage to toast a bagel and cream cheese. The waffle maker also on the same outlet as the toaster was too big and messy to move. Someone did attempt to make a waffle and gave up. The previous night seemed a challenge for dinner as most places near the Inn where closed or moved to a different location.We ended up driving again to the next exit for dinner. Would not stay here again and should not have stayed the first night.

Room Tip: Get back in the car and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for Frankenmuth Autofest Weekend for the last 14 years but since Americas Best Value has taken it over it has gone way downhill. The hotel was filthy and smelled awful, the pool and hot tub were not working, there was no Internet in the Guest Rooms, the air conditioner did not work. The remotes for the TV's did not work and when we called for batteries they never showed up. One of our rooms was extremely filthy and when we complained it took them until 10:45 at night to show up to clean it. Half the lights in the halls and common areas were not lit. Only one Elevator was working for a four floor hotel. I do not expect this hotel to be open for very much longer based on the poor condition it is in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for one night. I wouldn't want to stay for an extended stay here but one night was fine enough for us. It is literally right off the highway. Was close to mall, shopping, dinner and movies. Room was clean. Not new or updated but clean. They allowed our dog at no extra cost. Ample parking. Hot tub and pool were good.
We paid $52 which in my opinion was a fair price for what we got.
Continental breakfast was good and fresh.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank jan1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

stay away from it, pay a few more dollars and find a better one, stayed there over 4th of july 2013 and it was the worst experience I had, but the worst problem I had other then the sink was clogged all the time and the aircon was dripping water and the carpet was soked, was the fact that my daughters kindle fire was stolen from the room when we were gone for the day, and the manager has since then done nothing and is willing to do nothing about it, he wont return my calls or emails and even try to compensate me for my loss,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Very unhappy with this room. The room has an odd smell. The floor is dirty. The remote for the tv didn't work and had to be replaced. The wifi connection is intermitent at best. The battery cover for the door lock is missing so the batteries are exposed. The place is a mess.I don't usually give a one star rating to anybody but thats the best I can do for this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saginaw hotels
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saginaw
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saginaw
5.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Saginaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saginaw
6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Saginaw
6 mi away
Comfort Suites Saginaw
Comfort Suites Saginaw
#8 of 23 in Saginaw
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South

Address: 1408 S Outer Dr, Saginaw, MI 48601-6633
Region: United States > Michigan > Saginaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Saginaw
Price Range: £62 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Saginaw South Hotel Saginaw
Best Western Saginaw
Saginaw Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing