We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again!”

Perry's Schuch Hotel
Ranked #131 of 272 Restaurants in Saginaw
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
“never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went on 2-2-13 with two friends for dinner before Pit and Balcony show. Couldn't make a lemon drop martini even after asking my friend how to make it. First one came with no lemon, but olives...not even close. To their credit, they made 2nd attempt, had sugar on it when my friend asked for "no sugar" and only lemon in it was a single slice of lemon...cldn't drink it.
Right away server (male) said menu items limited due to kitchen issues and suggested we get pizza. He cldn't tell us what was available on menu other than pizza and prime rib so we ordered "sicilian pizza" with pepperoni, mushrooms and bacon. Several pieces had no pepperoni, mushrooms were canned and bacon was scarce. Cheese was melted and crust looked light brown but pizza was luke warm. We ate it because we had to leave for the play, but at end of dinner server (same guy) asked how it was and we told him. Said he didn't kno how it was cold since it came out of pizza oven and he served it to us immediately. This pizza was not handmade, not Sicilian, not hot and not good.
He was polite and offered to walk us out to watch us get to our car. He said they didn't have any security problems but liked to insure customers safe. Next day we found out there had been a shooting in the immediate area of the restaurant the week before. Not ever going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gonna Make A Great Comeback!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We went to their Grand Re-Opening Party last night & loved it. Chef Thomas Quigley is going to bring this landmark back to life in no time! The food was fantastic & there weren't many empty tables all night. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't get much worse!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I didn't live in Sagianw during the period when this place was well regarded. I tried it several years ago when it had recently reopened. The food was mediocre at best and the service rather surly. I gave the place another chance. The food was somewhat better, and the server was attentive. However, the bartender--possibly the manager/owner--appeared to have been drinking and kept sitting down with us. Ever the optimist, I tried again on a day when the Saginaw news featured the place. The hostess was loud, and this, too, seemed alcohol related. There were only a few people there, mostly drinking. A table of four came in at the same time as my friend and I, and after 25 minutes without menus or drinks, the foursome left. The hostess followed them and swore a blue streak as they went out the door, She stormed around loudly venting to the few others there. As soon as she went into the kitchen, we also left. Recently, (July 2012) a friend wanted to eat there. Again, there were few there, and we left after 20 minutes without ordering..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandalswithsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birch Run, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool building, awful food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Cool historic building but the food is aweful. Service is ok...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This place could be so awesome if it had decent food and decent service. It used to be a wonderful place to go. We could not get drinks, they got our pizza order wrong. I finally had to go up to the bar so we could pay for our dinner and get out of there. It's a beautiful building with a rich history, there's so much potential, it's really sad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perry's Schuch Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Schuch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing