We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience Nice Change of Pace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Experience Nice Change of Pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We decided to get away to Mackinaw City for a couple of days, upon checking out of our hotel we decided to stay an extra day. We chose to stay at the Kewadin Casino & Hotel; we have gone to the casino many times but never stayed in the hotel. We called the hotel and made our reservation. Upon arriving at the Kewadin Hotel, we were promptly checked in (earlier than the posted check in time), and the clerk upgraded us to a lake view room at no additional charge. The cost of the room was $69.00 but we each received $10.00 in credits to be used in the Casino, so the room only cost $49.00. What a great deal, the beds were very comfortable, large TV with a large selection of cable channels, and a comfortable chair for reading. If you want a quiet hotel off the main drag, it has, two restaurants, one sports bars and one lounge, all very reasonably priced. You never have to leave the property; I guess that is the goal of a casino. We will be returning later this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMAC1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    57
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
71
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just needed to comment, I have already written reviews on the hotel & casino, I am just bothered by the pictures they have posted. The first 6 are not of this hotel/casino. The rest of them I believe are, although the room one with the adjoining room open does not look like it could be unless they have suites which if they do, I am unaware of it.
I would not want a patron to visit this place thinking the first few pictures are of the property because that could be very misleading.
After traveling there this past November 2011 & encountering an awful snow storm on the way, we did have a great time. We have a weekend planned the end of May, our usualy get-away. Also one for August & September. Hoping the slots are a little more "giving". I will let you all know.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here two nights at the end of December. Staff is friendly. Rooms are nicely decorated and roomy. The bathroom was spacious and the beds were comfortable. With the Northern Rewards discount, the room rate for midweek was under $60. We also were given $10 per person per day for free play. Can't say my husband or I won much at the casino, though. That was disappointing. Wish they had mini fridges in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for what special offers they have when booking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a very convenient hotel, as it is connected to the casino. The room was clean.Beds were ok, but not as comfortable as others we stayed in on this UP trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlaneJaneMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stay usually 2 times a year, usually mid-May & early October. We have been coming here since they opened 5 yrs ago. We have never had a problem with the staff. Front desk, restaurant & other staff members are polite. Sometimes the Northern Rewards desk has a long line, they could use a little help moving customers through & we have encounter one elderly woman who is not very friendly, when asking if we have any food comps, you would think she was giving you food coupons out of her pocketbook but that is the only one & we try to stay clear of her.
The rooms are clean & if you get one on the lake side, it's a nice view.
The restaurant food is good but we noticed this past visit that the dinner buffet price jumped from around $18.00 to $24 per person. I don't know aobut you but we thought that was a big increase over 5 months. We ordered dinner off the menu, I had a chicken sesame salad & my husband had lasagna..it was very good & was about what 1 buffet dinner would have cost, tip included. The breakfast buffet increased by .50, not bad & it is good with lots of choices. The deli is good, we usually eat lunch or a late snack there.
We play slots only & they are not as generous as previous years. Seems every year we come out loosing more & more. It's nice to win a little to keep on playing but that doesn't seeem to be the case lately.
That's when we head to the outside deck, pool or exercise room. All clean & a nice for a break from gambling if you don't want to leave the property.
One complaint is that we usually book rooms 5 months ahead. They seem to have alot of bus tours & since it is a small hotel, the rooms fill up fast. I guess that is a complaint that nothing can be done & it shows that it is a nice place if they book quickly. Maybe they can add to the property sometime. The sister hotel they have is a big dissappointment. We stayed there once & it was smelly, dark, & old so don't stay there. We were not impressed with the condition of the Lakefront Inn.

And the reason we like to stay there is to be able to play when we want without having to drive there & leave..We arrive, park the car & don't leave until we check out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at this property for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our room with the lake view. The whole reservation process is a bit of a mystery however because you don't have any option to book the lakeside room online, I just asked for it and the desk clerk said we were booked for one. To me, there's a $20 difference in rates between lake view and parking lot view but this is one of many management mysteries surrounding this place.
I'm going to keep the issues between myself and the property however our lodging experience at this location was very good and I highly recommend people to experience the offerings of this beautiful location. If nothing else, the clean room and beautiful views are worth the price you pay.

Room Tip: Try at any cost to get a room lakeside...I still don't understand what that takes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packerfan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Easily accessible off I-75, located about six miles from downtown St. Ignace. Small facility, but very comfortable and run professionally. Room had a king bed, with an extremely comfortable mattress, and a balcony overlooking the Horseshoe Bay of Lake Huron. Nothing fancy, but new, very clean and quiet. Hotel front desk is adjacent to the casino and the main lobby. Personnel are very friendly but the front desk can be very busy at times and there are limited personnel to handle the load. Elevators are quick and virtually noiseless.

Restaurants are OK but menus are adequate, but not expansive. Limited breakfast choices but the buffet is also a choice. We are not generally buffet people. We would return to this hotel if we were to visit this area again.

Room Tip: Lake views are not spectacular and may not be worth the extra few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#20 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel

Property: Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Address: 3015 Mackinac Trl, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-9758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kewadin Shores St. Ignace Casino Hotel is located on the scenic shores of Lake Huron. This 81-room property offers slots, table games, poker, dining, live entertainment an indoor heated pool and free wifi. The hotel also has an onsite RV park. Be it for business or pleasure, when you stay at the St. Ignace Hotel you’ll find just what you’re looking for. Book now and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewadin Shores Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing