We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nothing but praise"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cedars Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cedars Motel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Litchfield, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Nothing but praise"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We (4 adults-3 rooms) stayed here for 3 nights because of the good Trip Advisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. The motel might look like something out of the '50s with pine paneling and one story U shaped design but bathrooms are modern, the rooms were very clean and cozy. There are fireplaces in some rooms. Most people would agree that the reason this place is rated so high is the owners, Tim and Kathy, who are so friendly and helpful and add all the little extras to make the place seem homey.

Room Tip: I believe that the rooms with just one bed have the fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandma1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    14
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay at The Cedars based on other reviews I read. I had a great stay, the room was clean and reminded me of being in a cabin. They serve a continental breakfast in the morning which includes items such as oatmeal, toast, cereal, donut holes and fruit. The hosts, Tim and Kathy were very friendly. Great budget motel and a recommended stay!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We came upon The Cedars randomly, but were really glad we did! We arrived late, but everything was all set for us with no hassle. The room was clean and simple, but it was just what we needed. The breakfast in the morning was a great surprise and had a good spread. We will definitely come back on our way to the Upper Peninsula!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My oldest and dearest friend and I took a long over due girls trip. We spent one night at the Cedars and it was wonderful. The place brought back childhood memories of staying in these motels that families actually owned and ran. I thoroughly enjoyed my time from beginning to end. Kathy and Tim are wonderful, personal people. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and we could not of asked for more. There was a campfire but I did not attend that night, just too tired. The morning complementary breakfast was more than enough. It was a nice extra that was given with the very well priced accommodations. Thank you Kathy and Tim, I would sure used your place again. Too bad you go to Florida for the winter. That's when we would used it most with our cabin closed. Again thanks and sorry it took me a few weeks to respond.

Room Tip: The rooms with the fireplace are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great place to stay. Love the nightly campfires. We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniv this weekend and couldn't of picked a better place. So glad we were told about you guys. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkHoeppner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed with a group of 4 bikes for 2 nights. Tim and Kathy are wonderful people and we felt very much at home. Our room had a fireplace and was very cozy. Kathy had clean towels each day for the bikes. Both nights, a bon fire was blazing when we returned from our ride, complete with s'mores! Will definetly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed four nights at the Cedar Motel in August for less than one night the previous year at a chain in Mackinaw City. The room was clean, had a coffee pot, fridge, fireplace and television. Tim and Kathy are very friendly and made the visit fun. Got a complimentary breakfast every morning, which saved us even more. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emptynester05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
3.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#9 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Motel

Property: The Cedars Motel
Address: 2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a stone's throw away from the Kewadin Casino. Whether you want to stroll down the mile long boardwalk in downtown St Ignace, or travel one of the ferry's to Mackinac Island, we are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing