We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway”
Review of The Cedars Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cedars Motel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This visit was just as nice as the last time. Room was clean, comfortable and Kathy & Tim make you feel welcome. I met some really nice people (other customers) too! It was neat to talk to them by the bonfire.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank gottastartearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Cedars Motel and were more than pleased! Kathy and Tim go out of their way to make you feel very welcome. Very clean and has a cozy cabin feel! It was our first time in the UP and they gave us so many hints on where to go!! They didn't hesitate to sit down with you and have a cup of coffee or sit by the nightly bonfire and just relax. I LOVE THIS PLACE! We forgot our jackets there and they shipped them to us! Great people, great place, great vacation! The ONLY place I will stay in the UP! Thanks Kathy and Tim!! We will see you again, very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHargis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From far away, you don't know the hotels/motels in any area, and that is why TripAdvisor is so handy. Usually. "Ranked number 1 of 26" it says on this site. 57 reviews, no less.
The price wasn't bad, $49 I think, and the owners gave us coupons worth $10 each at the local Kewadin Casino. We would not have gone there without the coupons, however. So we won $13, and that knocked the price down some. And that was an "experience."
And yes, there is a campfire with supplies for S'mores. But to call this a 5 star motel makes one wonder who stayed here. Yes, the owners were nice. But...
1. It is a typical 1950s-1960s motorlodge. It probably has had new paint.
2. The floor in our room was uneven. I suspect termite damage.
3. The bathroom baseboard was peeling away and had been cleverly made of a thin baseboard that was meant to be glued directly to the wall instead glued to a spacer that held it a half-inch from the wall, with putty or caulk applied behind it.
4. The lack of electrical outlets was made up for by extension plugs enough to make any fire marshal shudder. But they did go to a small refrigerator in the room, and a microwave on top of it.
5. The shower had no light. Thank goodness the curtain was thin and let some light into the dinky area. No tub.
6. We went there on Sept 28th, 2013. While leaving the motel to get on the ferry, we drove by at least 10-15 hotels and motels, all in the same or cheaper price range, and all looking more modern. But they might not give out $10 coupons to the casino, and they aren't the closest one to it. This probably is. But if you want a lake view, or something closer to the ferries, go to Google earth and look along the street in downtown St. Ignace.... I snapped photos of some for future reference, and these included the K Royale, Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Inn, Wayside Motel, Budget Host Inn, San-Bar Motel, and others. Among those I would bet on the Holiday Inn and Comfort Inn if you want what looks closest to a modern hotel. The rest look dated.
7. The walls were thin. Very thin.
8. The orange juice was turned to wine. Now granted, there was free cereal and the milk was fresh. And there were Danish buns in plastic. No fresh pancakes, no fresh waffles.
Where am I going with this? Well, I just have to say that I'd not rule out staying there again ever, but I'd know what I was going to get. Oh, and the cedar rooms? Ours was stuccoed over and painted. But I saw no bugs.
Why the title? The next night we stayed at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. Both 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you want a real cedar room at the Cedars, you had better ask about that. I certify that I am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed two nights at The Cedars Motel and found it more than met our needs. We were in Room 5 and having the electric fireplace was a great bonus to take the chill off a cool night. Cathy who owns the motel with husband Tim was so pleasant and willing to answer questions. While the facility is older it is very clean.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vicki1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here one night on my way back from a visit to the Upper Peninsula. The people working the front desk were very nice and friendly and helpful. This is a small budget priced motel so you should not expect lots of amenities. The room was decent sized and very clean. The bed was a little hard but still comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good water pressure (always a plus). Really my only complaint was that the walls are quite thin and some noisy neighbors made it tough to fall asleep. The hotel is located relatively close to town but you will need to drive to get to most of the eateries or the ferry docks if you are heading to Mackinaw Island. Overall I had a decent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_traveler1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had such a nice time at this motel. I looked on Trip Advisor to find someplace reasonable to stay overnight. This motel had great ratings and sounded like fun with a camp fire every night and they provide the stuff to make s'mores. It was wonderful. There were 7 of us in 3 rooms. The beds were pretty comfy and I did not hear anything from any other rooms. The owners were so friendly and fun. I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms in this motel. I know one room has a recliner if you need to sleep in one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

With my wife and another couple from Germany, we made a fall foliage tour through the UP which included a stay in St. Ignace, visiting Mackinac Island. The Cedars was a perfect place for our two night stay. Tim and Kathy were great hosts, the rooms were small but comfortable, The rates were more than reasonable and even included a light breakfast. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0 mi away
Bear Cove Inn
Bear Cove Inn
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
84 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
Kewadin Shores Casino and Hotel
#23 of 29 in Saint Ignace
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.9 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 29 in Saint Ignace
102 reviews
4.9 mi away
Northernaire Motel
Northernaire Motel
#7 of 29 in Saint Ignace
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Motel

Address: 2040 I-75 Business Loop, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a stone's throw away from the Kewadin Casino. Whether you want to stroll down the mile long boardwalk in downtown St Ignace, or travel one of the ferry's to Mackinac Island, we are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing