We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!”
Review of Pines Motel

Pines Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pines Motel
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Ubly
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

You may be enticed by the prices and the quaint look of this motel but look elsewhere. My husband and I stayed there during a very busy weekend. On Thursday evening at 10:15 p.m. after a very long day of traveling, my husband was already sleeping and there was a guy sitting in the chair directly outside my window visiting with another guy who happened to be the owner and they were talking really loud. I opened the door and asked if they "could keep it down". After closing the door, the owner came unglued and began to yell and curse at me. A few minutes later, he began pounding on my door. I finally opened the door and he told me that I lost my reservation and that I had to leave in the morning. He finally left but I was a bit frightened since there was no security chain or dead bolt and after all, he is the owner and has the key to the room. In about five minutes his wife came down and apologized and asked me not to leave. She assured me that he wouldn't bother me anymore. Needless to say, I didn't get too much sleep that night. We ended up staying simply because we had an obligation in town, had already paid, and could not find another vacancy in town. I will never stay there again and I urge others not to either. I completely believe "never again" and empathize with her experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank jean1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
6
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ixonia Wi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

the owners are unfreindly double charged for rooms had to get a credit and then that isn't right the beds are terrible i slept in my truck which was more comfortable then the beds no cleaning service or clean towels unless you go ang get them yourself. the owners both smelt of alcohol and very sleazy looking no heat in the rooms it got down to 36 degrees and we were told they don't turn the heat on to October never again would I waste my money here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRUCK983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Dallas,Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have been staying at the Pines, annually, for over ten years and I can only assume that "never again" must have been staying at some other Motel. The rooms are scrupulously clean, the owners are extremely friendly and their "dogs" consist of ONE very friendly small collie. While it is not a large establishment, that is a virtue. After the second day you feel like a member of the "family". A very comfortable place to spend a few quiet, peaceful days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

my husband and I have stayed here about three times a year for about the last four years.the owners are very friendly. the rooms are very clean and rustic. the price is reasonable and the location is very convenient and close to the casino.i highly reccomend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have traveled numerous times to the Upper Penisula of Michigan and have been very happy with my accomodations at the Pines Motel. The rustic pine look of the rooms is very peaceful and relaxing for me. I have checked out a number of hotel rates in the area and The Pines has been the most "bang for your buck"! I have never had any problems with the staff of the motel or at the convenience store they own located adjacent to the motel. Everyone has been very friendly and accomodating during all of my stays and I look forward to paying another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: My personal preference is a room w/mini fridge, microwave & rocking chair
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The owners are drinking while running there business. There dogs are not are not friendly to other dogs, the male owner is even less friendly. He used very inappropriate language towards me when I asked him to get his dogs that were barking & growling while charging towards me. Myself& my toddler were terrified& immediately left. He refused to refund my money as well. The carpets were stained& dirty. Rooms were musty as well.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This place is very cute, on the outside. We stayed there because it always seemed like a cute, Mom and Pop place- and they accept pets. We opened the door and at first it seemed very northwoods like. After further inspection, the carpet was worn, dirty and overall- we did'nt let our small dog sleep on it. When we got out of the shower- which was equally disgusting with tiles falling off the wall and the caulking moldy- we put our shoes on before stepping off the bathmat, YUCK! We would have went elsewhere but we did not get there til the wee hours of the morning. After check out- we found much more delightful accomadations at a more reasonable price. Oh- the property is for sale, at a price of $315,000 ...it would cost another $100,000 to renovate this place. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
1.3 mi away
K Royale Lakefront Inn
K Royale Lakefront Inn
#22 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#4 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Property: Pines Motel
Address: 1919 Business Loop 75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-9412
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pines Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing