We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty views, Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed the weekend of 7/13/2014.

He paid extra for a lake view room. It was well worth it. It was quiet- a change of pace from staying in Mackinaw City. They had a fire pit on the beach and private access to Lake Huron.

Our room had an in room hot tub- not something we requested but nice. We used the indoor pool and hot tub too. They were clean and nice after riding bikes on Mackinaw all day. We paid $139 for the first night (Saturday) but they gave us the second night for $59 (Sunday).

Breakfast was a continental plus with a waffle station and eggs with sausage- pretty typical fare. They were friendly. Some other patrons were pretty rude- but you can't blame the hotel for that.

Couple tips- beer is really cheap at the Casino, like $1.25 and they run a free shuttle to and from the hotel. There is a Mackinaw Money bag that the St Ignace chamber of commerce sells. For $15 you get bogo on Ferry tickets- which saves you $10 off the bat plus deals on local businesses.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gidgetglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

First of all wanna thank Sally at the front desk! She was very friendly and defiantly the reason we chose this place! Beautiful room and nice views of the waters! Very comfortable and clean. Jacuzzi was most enjoyable!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scottnaylor1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Do not stay here. Next door is holiday inn looked cleaner. There are other hotels that looked better as well. There is no front desk it is a separate building which is scary because they leave the doors to the hotel unlocked.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katyluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Got a room for less than what they show on the website. Breakfast was free but not what was advertised. Only one waffle machine with 37 people in the breakfast area. Trash can overflowed, no meat or eggs, no fruit or bagels. If you only want cereal this is it. No help cleaning the area and only saw one person for a short time that appeared to be working the area. Help must be hard to find in a resort area but it really shows here.

Had a end room which was quiet except when people were feeding the seagulls.
Stayed here when it was a branded hotel 2 years ago and it hasn't changed. Rooms did smell clean and fresh. Front desk personnel were friendly. Believe it was Brian and Sally.

Room Tip: Get an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cdrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Ok hotel, small rooms with no sound proofing so you hear every little detail of the continuing rooms. We had a large family next to us and we heard everything! The lobby and breakfast area is in a desperate building up the driveway which is inconvenient. We had to switch rooms because our first room was across from the pool and extremely noisy. Not much to enjoy on the beach, just a few chairs but the view is breathtaking of the lake and you can see Mackinaw Island. There are stairs on all the floors because the layout is strange. Ice machines and pop machines are only on the first floor which is also inconvenient. But lastly the parking lot is horrible! Not enough parking spaces so we had to park in the middle of the parking lot next to a wooden wall that is slowly falling over. Didn't feel our parking space was secure or safe at all. Overpriced rooms but I'm guessing that's due to location. The beds are comfy but we had to queen beds and one of them was broken. Also the outlet where the coffee maker plugged in didn't work and when you use the bathroom light, the fan automatically cones on and is very noisy.

Room Tip: Be ready to spend a decent amount and here your neighbors all night! Don't leave or you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here on July 4 th with my family. They overbooked there rooms so when I went to check in I had no room! After talking with them they finally found me a room that would fit my family. They we're suppose to bring in a roll away bed, we waited for 2 hours, never showed up. So we went out and figured it would be in the room when we returned. We came back around 11:30pm after watching the fireworks and still no bed! When I called down to ask about it, I was told they would try to find one and was hung up on! I walked down to desk talked with a guy. A roll away bed finally showed up at Midnight! Next morning when I checked out I asked to speak with the manager Andrew J. Shaffer he Refused to come talk to me. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!!! I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KCondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackinawAJ, Manager at Breakers Resort - Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

KCondon2014,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay with us at the Breakers Resort. I am truly sorry that you stay did not meet you expectations. We strive to make every stay as enjoyable as possible. I have communicated your feedback with the staff and front desk to make sure all guest request are followed through with including the extra bedding request. Please rest assured that we value you as our guest and would love the chance to talk with you regarding your issues.

If you have any question please do not hesitate to contact me.
Andy Shaffer
General Manager
(906) 643-7733

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great stay at Breakers Resort. Very clean. Very friendly, prompt service. Recently updated rooms. Beautiful view of Lake Huron looking over a quiet beach. St. Ignace is not touristy at all. Much quieter. Very pleasant. Easy access to the ferries to Mackinac Island. And there's a great little restaurant on the property called Java Joe's. We'd do this again for sure.

Room Tip: Get lake view and ask for a jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
1.6 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Resort - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Resort - Lakeside

Address: 927 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Comfort Inn Beachside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: £36 - £1,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breakers Resort - Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Breakers Resort - Lakeside in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan. Affordable Lakefront Luxury. Newly renovated in 2015. Enjoy the breathtaking views of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron from your private balcony, relax and unwind in one of our Lakefront Fireplace rooms, or enjoy a soak in our Lakefront Jacuzzi Rooms. Every stay includes a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast each morning, free shuttle to Mackinac Island Ferries and The Kewadin Casino. We have many Mackinac Island discounts available, just ask any of our friendly, knowledgeable staff. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breakers Resort - Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beachside Hotel Saint Ignace
Comfort Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing