We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Borealis Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Borealis Motor Inn
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Frills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and was amazed the value for the price. You can't find extremely clean hotels for less than $50. a night. It is very clean on the outside and inside. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. The rooms is like a dorm room, very simple. There is no breakfast but a brand new McDonalds a block away.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and don't get a room with lake view. Not much to see and is $20.more. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
29
39
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is an old-school motel but it is nicely kept up, and our room was surprisingly large. The room and grounds were spotless, and the location is convenient, if not exactly scenic. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatsoutalot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Room basic, but very clean. Man at reception would not accommodate us in a ground floor room as he was "saving them for older folks". We are in our 70's and one of us never does stairs due to a knee injury, but we hauled suitcases up the stairs...lower room never filled up at all!
Warm night, but a/c didn't stay on.
Man at reception really pushed a downtown restaurant for dinner...it wasn't anything special
Probably would not stay here again, tho it was very clean and that was appreciated

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 128BobbiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the very, very clean hotel. I could not hear any road noise. I would stay here again!!

Great location to the ferry system to Mackinac Island and historic downtown St. Ignace. Not too far off 75 after the Mackinaw bridge. Only an hour drive to the Soo Locks.

Owner gave info on things to see in the area, very helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

These are the cleanest rooms I found on my entire vacation. With the senior discount I got a nice room at a good rate. $49/night + taxes. This was one of the least expensive rooms on my motorcycle vacation and provided the most value. The owner is very knowlegeable about things to do in the area and where to eat. There is a coffee maker in the room which is great if you like a cup of coffee when you wake up. There is a good family restaurant next door that does breakfast, lunch and dinner. And the rooms and the motel properly are clean. Motorcyclists are welcome.

Room Tip: Make an early reservation and request a ground floor room if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

After crossing the Macinaw Bridge and realising that all the good hotels are on the other side of the bridge, we figured that we'd stay in this hotel as it had a 50 years and over discount! Once we got there, the owner wanted to give us only 10% off rather than 20% because my daughter wasn't 50 years and over....I suppose he realised how dumb this was so he made an exception and allowed us the greater discount. The room was very small but comfortable. It was clean but very thin walls allowed you to hear what people were saying that were outside the room. It was a little bit daunting. However, for the night's stay it was very comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ixonia wi.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Talked to motel in spring and tried to reserve over 15 rooms for september. Was told everything was noted and to call back in mid august to finalize reservations and number of guests. Called back in august and was told there was no record and that the price quoted to me was now 35 dollars a night higher. unwilling to work out a deal so we went elsewhere. Won't be using this motel again ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pernatbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Borealis Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Borealis Motor Inn

Property: Aurora Borealis Motor Inn
Address: 635 US Highway 2 W, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1745
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aurora Borealis Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20% senior discount for persons 50 years and older! 56 new units. All rooms air-conditioned with color cable TV, phones, tub/shower combinations. Non-smoking and handicapped rooms available. Immaculate housekeeping. Two blocks from Mackinac Island ferry docks with free shuttle service to and from docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Borealis Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing