We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Spacious, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
leroy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Clean, Spacious, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Since our last stay 3 years ago, has undergone some remodeling. Rooms include refridgerator, hair dryer. Sports bar & restaurant attached. Pricier than in the past, we guess due to remodeling. Awfully noisy in the a.m.

Room Tip: All face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rychrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We have done some remodeling to the rooms and have included some additional amenities to make our guests that much more comfortable. I would like to apologize for the noise you encountered in the morning, unfortunately not every guest is sensitive to other guests' comfort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the future. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    43
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The rooms a very spacious and clean. My neighbor had a dog that enjoyed barking when his owner was away, but I blame the owner for that, not the dog :) We appreciate the Driftwood being pet friendly, it make traveling with a pet much nicer. The restaurant serves excellent food and the service is top notch! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Biker friendly, which is fine until they start up their "hogs" at 6:30 or 7 in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Driftwood Motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious, clean accommodations and hope you will get an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A very good place to stay in St Ignace. Always clean and well maintained. Upper Peninsula atmosphere with good view of the docks, Lake and Mackinaw Island. Hotel has a sports bar and dining room attached that serves excellent food. Try the Planked Whitefish for an enjoyable treat. Rates are family friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganMurcielago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Driftwood Motel. We appreciate your past patronage and hope that we can serve you again in the future. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Please try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We decided to stay in town for an extra night at the last minute, and were able to get the last available room here. It was very clean and a great value for the money. It was half the price of the Best Western down the street. We will definitely be back next time we are in town!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am happy that you appreciated our prices and value for your dollar, as well as the cleanliness of our property. We look forward to being your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Found a diamond in the rough! Stayed in the snowflake cottage, it was comfortable, clean, and had more than we needed! Felt like home ! The owners and staff are wonderful- we will be back! My son dropped his necklace down the drain in the bathroom, and in no time, the staff had the pipe torn apart, and the necklace retrieved! There is a restaurant and bar on the property as well, very nice too. Great location-

Room Tip: A great mom and pop place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your great review about the Snowflake Cottage. I am happy that you were pleased with the cleanliness and convenience of the cottage and its great location. I hope that we have the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! Could not believe what a great deal for the price! Good location, clean room and friendly staff. We will be back!! The fireworks on Saturday nights is a nice touch! The only thing to improve would be the brightness of the light bulbs in the room. A little too dim for us. Other wise we highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel. I am glad that you appreciate our prices, location, and cleanliness. We hope that you are able to visit us again soon! Also, the bulbs that you mentioned are a low wattage, energy saving bulb, but we also think they are too dim, so are looking for a better option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Clean rooms. Biker and pet friendly. Great location. Best Price in town. Would stay again. Everything is nearby. Sports bar on site. Docks to Mackinaw island across the street. Easy parking. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polarisrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for such a favorable review. We REALLY enjoy our biker guests, as well as every other guest of course! I am happy that you found our rooms to be clean and conveniently located and a great value. Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to be your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#9 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing