We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driftwood Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
America's Best Value Inn(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Lakefront(Saint Ignace)
US$108
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 St. Ignace(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Hill Lodge(Saint Ignace)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
57
50
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
50
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant attachedsports bar attacheddirectly across the streetoff seasontwo double bedsstayed for one nightgrassy areawould stay againmackinac island ferrythe room was nicerooms were very cleanfront desk staffannexpetmotelqueendocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this motel because it was one of a few without a dumpster in the lot for remodeling and there were lots of cars in the lot. The price was great and the room was very clean. The carpet looked new. Unfortunately, the sheets were worn and thin and the bed was so hard that it was uncomfortable for us. Stay here only if you like very, very firm beds.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2seniors53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. I haven't received complaints in the past regarding the firmness of the beds. We do value your business and hope to have the opportunity to be your host again in the future. I'm sure if you gave us another chance you would not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My son and I were on our way up to Houghton to check out Michigan Tech and rolled into town after dark on a cold, snowy March evening. We found this place to stay. The food was good, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the price couldn't be beat. It was a cozy retreat from the weather outside. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your favorable review for the Driftwood Motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be your host again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I had never been to the U.P before so my boyfriend scheduled a trip for us. We were going to the island and not only was Driftwood convenient for the ferry but I wanted to stay here since they have a bar. His Dad warned us against it which left him cautious but I insisted on staying and we loved it and will always stay here! Great bar and food, spacious, quiet, cute, clean room. I love the chairs out in the yard! The price was fantastic too!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan_Cates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please plan on coming to visit us again in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you can get in - in the winter, this is the perfect snowmobiler's place to stay. You never have to move your vehicle and trailers the whole weekend and can park your snowmobile at the room. They have a great restaurant, seafood buffet on friday nights, a bar. The rooms are wonderfully renovated. They are pet-friendly. The wi-fi works wonderfully throughout the whole place which is more than I can say for some other hotels in the town. Located RIGHT on the trail. Big bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host again and again! Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Driftwood Motel still looks like an older roadside motel but the rooms are nicely updated. The rooms are small and two queen beds are a bit of a tight squeeze but the bathroom is actually pretty big with a newer sink, toilet and tub and very nice tile throughout. The furniture in the room was a bit dated. However, it, and the room in general, was very clean. The motel staff were very friendly. The restaurant attached to the motel was very nice also with good breakfast food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silentsnowkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding the Driftwood. We are happy that you were comfortable here and enjoyed your stay. Please come back to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews