We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Friendly and Affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly and Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first experience at the Motel. Our Greyhound group has stayed there for the last few years and had nice things to say and so we stayed. When we checked in, we were given a doggie goody bag with a ball and treats and it let us know about the "dog run" for pottying. They even included bags if we forgot them. It was a nice room and had WI-FI as well as a flat screen TV and HDTV. We were conveniently across the street from the Ferry to take us to Mackinaw Island. The restaurant had good food also (they also encouraged taking left overs for the dog). The rooms as well as the grounds were well kept and enjoyable. We look forward to staying again next year for the Lilac Festival.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    43
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
46
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We certainly were a bit hesitant to stay here as I unfortunately have had poor experiences at a place that has "motel" in the name. Our company booked the loft for us and I was certainly surprised. Equipped with a modern full kitchen, living space with wii and board games, two bedrooms and one bathroom... it was quite comfortable. Supposedly the loft can house up to 15 people.... two beds in each room... one of the rooms also had a bunk.... and perhaps the couch pulls out. Although this sounds fantastic... the one bathroom may be a bit of an issue. Either way, for two people... this was great. Talking to folks in the restaurant who were staying in the motel section... they were extremely happy ... especially considering the price. That being said, if their rooms were anything like the loft, I'd stay here without hesitation.

This property is directly across the street from two of the ferry companies to Mackinac Island. It also appeared to be the hotel closest to the nice main street of Saint Ignace. You certainly can talk to and from the shops and other restaurants without an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonrover2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are happy that you were satisfied with your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Based on some other reviews, I was expecting very little from The Driftwood. Much to our surprise, my wife and I were delighted. The room was clean. The beds were good and the space was adequate. Best of all was the friendliness of the staff. Dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were very good. Highly recommended for value and comfort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hudson4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your favorable review. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel because it was convenient to the ferry to Mackinac Island. In addition to its location, it was clean and had a restaurant attached. This place is not fancy. The rooms are small but it fit our needs perfectly. The food in the restaurant was good. I would stay again if the situation arose.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAtraveler36542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your nice review! We appreciate your business immensely and hope to have the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this motel because it was one of a few without a dumpster in the lot for remodeling and there were lots of cars in the lot. The price was great and the room was very clean. The carpet looked new. Unfortunately, the sheets were worn and thin and the bed was so hard that it was uncomfortable for us. Stay here only if you like very, very firm beds.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2seniors53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. I haven't received complaints in the past regarding the firmness of the beds. We do value your business and hope to have the opportunity to be your host again in the future. I'm sure if you gave us another chance you would not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My son and I were on our way up to Houghton to check out Michigan Tech and rolled into town after dark on a cold, snowy March evening. We found this place to stay. The food was good, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the price couldn't be beat. It was a cozy retreat from the weather outside. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your favorable review for the Driftwood Motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I had never been to the U.P before so my boyfriend scheduled a trip for us. We were going to the island and not only was Driftwood convenient for the ferry but I wanted to stay here since they have a bar. His Dad warned us against it which left him cautious but I insisted on staying and we loved it and will always stay here! Great bar and food, spacious, quiet, cute, clean room. I love the chairs out in the yard! The price was fantastic too!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan_Cates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please plan on coming to visit us again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#10 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing