We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant motel, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant motel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Driftwood Motel is a cute, old fashioned motel. All rooms are ground level. The good is the bathroom and shower which were nice and seemed to be recently remodeled. The beds were quite comfortable. The chairs in the room were rather old and not in good shape. The housekeeping service was good with the exception of the coffee maker which was never cleaned (we stayed 4 nights). The housekeeper just replaced the actual coffee packets but did not provide new creamers, stirring sticks, etc.

The motel's greatest asset is it's location which directly across from the ferries to Mackinac Island and a small beach on Lake Huron. St. Ignace's downtown with restaurants and shops is also within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Driftwood Motel. We appreciate your business. I do apologize for the coffeepot not being maintained properly and have spoken to housekeeping about this issue. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    43
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
46
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Cute, cozy, and clean. Newly remodeled bathroom. Very friendly service. Great price. Close to ferry lines. Good, cheap breakfast. Nice place to stay with a dog. Felt kind of retro, in a good way. Would definitely stay here again if we're in St. Ignace!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you for your nice review of the Driftwood Motel! We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to be your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have stayed here twice, the most recent trip this past weekend. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the attached restaurant has outstanding food. The only minor complaint is that their WiFi can be hard to connect to. Not enough of a problem to prevent me from staying here again, however. I have already made reservations for our next family trip to the UP. Great place to stay and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseLM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. We really appreciate your patronage and you taking the time to give us such a nice review. We hope to have the opportunity to be your host in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice little motel across the street from the water. Clean and friendly. Has a restaurant attached with adult beverages. Had a good breakfast before leaving for Mackinac Island. Boat ferries are right across the street. Beds a little firm. Good price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler35691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Manager at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will allow us the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This review is a difficult one to write simply because the restaurant and motels service was vastly different.

The restaurant: Absolutely great. Quiet, fast, great food. Service was wonderful. Went in and out throughout our week of stay and had no issues anytime of day. Drinks and food were quality for the price. Ate at several locations in town and they had by far the best food and service in the area.

The motel: The view was nice to the ferry and the water. The room was stocked upon arrival with towels, coffee, etc as you would expect. As the days passed however these things were not refilled/restocked by house keeping. In fact house keeping only came in to replace a few towels during the week of stay. The beds were not made once, I had to ask the front desk to have our trash changed, I had coffee the first day but it was never restocked, and we even ran out of toilet paper in the room and had to flag house keeping down to get more. By the time the last day came I simply left the 'do not disturb' on the knob all day because I got sick of hoping they would come in. We had placed money in the envelope for our housekeeping each day until about day three, but took it back out because they didn't do anything!

Lastly, room cleanliness was an issue. There were beer bottles under our bed from previous guests. Two nights before departure my husband woke up with a tick on his leg. We thought he must have gotten it somehow the prior day,removed it,and continued our trip. The last night however, I went to shower and had a tick on my leg also. We had been out earlier in the day, but I had changed from shorts to jeans upon arrival back in the room, and did not have the tick then. We had eaten dinner inside and been in the room/motel grounds for several hours before I noticed the tick attached to me. This motel is pet friendly so I assume that's where the tick came from but I had enough. We left and took a red eye drive home instead of waiting until check out the following morning.

I would eat at the restaurant again for sure, but I would not stay at the motel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant. I would like to apologize for the displeasure with your motel room. There is no excuse for trash being left in the room. I have taken this up with our housekeeping department. Unfortunately, this area has a decent amount of problematic insects, including ticks. We do use use a professional bug/pest company for not only our buildings, but also for the grounds. Please rest assured that we are doing everything in our power to diminish the numbers that Mother Nature is producing. I am sorry that you will not give us the opportunity to be your host again in the future. Thank you for your past patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed two nites with our dog. Good beds, loose sheets, very clean overall. AC worked, so did all lights. Comfortable, felt clean.

Oddities included no towel racks (one hook on the door) and a backward set up in the bathroom. I suspect the plumbing was moved to the interior to avoid cold-wall freeze, but the hot/cold on our sink were cross connected someplace...often got hot on the cold tap. The remodel is very pleasing, but short on electrical outlets. Oh well. (I feel sorry for owners who don't test-try their offerings!)

This is over-ruled by the pet friendliness, and the pet friendly Shepler's Ferry across the street. The bar & restaurant on premises wasn't a problem, it gives this place an all-inclusive plus!! I would recommend this place and stay here again.

Room Tip: All seem good. Units 1 to say 10 will face the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK128xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. We do work hard to ensure that our property is clean, friendly, and comfortable. I'm sorry you felt the room didn't have enough electrical receptacles.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first experience at the Motel. Our Greyhound group has stayed there for the last few years and had nice things to say and so we stayed. When we checked in, we were given a doggie goody bag with a ball and treats and it let us know about the "dog run" for pottying. They even included bags if we forgot them. It was a nice room and had WI-FI as well as a flat screen TV and HDTV. We were conveniently across the street from the Ferry to take us to Mackinaw Island. The restaurant had good food also (they also encouraged taking left overs for the dog). The rooms as well as the grounds were well kept and enjoyable. We look forward to staying again next year for the Lilac Festival.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing