We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”
Review of Wawatam Lighthouse

Ranked #10 of 30 things to do in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fraser, Michigan
Level Contributor
504 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Such a great view of the area. What a nice park right there in the downtown area. The placards explain the history of the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Lighthouse tops harbor area”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Wawatam Lighthouse is the cherry on a sundae consisting of a quaint town with beautiful scenery,

We spent two nights in Saint Ignace. We visited the downtown and harbor area both nights. The area is just beautiful.

Following dinner one night, we took a stroll along the harbor. We made our way to the lighthouse. The lighthouse was a popular attraction. Several people were there, taking pictures of it and themselves next to it.

It's a plain looking lighthouse. However, it fits into the area well.

During our walk, we came upon an egret standing on rocks near the boat docks.

Near the entrance to the lighthouse route stands a memorial for the fishermen who have died in the lake.

I recommend visiting the harbor, and making the lighthouse a stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustangdad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
433 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Cute, little light house”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Small, little light house in the middle of town. I think it is small compared to other lighthouses in Michigan. I wouldn't go out of my way to see it, but if you're in town, it's a nice walk out on the pier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,630 reviews
1,093 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,309 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Driving through town today we were surprised to see the Wawatam Lighthouse just before the Huron Village area. There is a nice breakwater leading to the lighthouse and looks quite inviting. We could not figure out why it was so far from the point, but Michigan has more lighthouses than any other state in the union, so really it should not be a surprise. Combine a walk around this area followed by a stroll through Huron Village. Nice shops and places to eat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stop by if you like lighthouses”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's a cute little light house that is right in the middle of town and a nice little stroll out the board walk to the light house.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stingerdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wawatam Lighthouse also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Wawatam Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing