We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Pond Hockey Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Hill Lodge
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Pond Hockey Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Went up for the annual pond hockey tournament and Cedar Hill was much better than places we've stayed before. It's clean, the staff is helpful, and the pool area is nice. It's located about a mile down the road, maybe not even, from the actual tournament on the bay. Glen's market is right across the street. It's also only about a half mile from I-75. The continental breakfast isn't anything to write home about, but most places don't have one and it's free. Overall, two thumbs up.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schic1mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    81
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
87
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Ignace, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

When my families come to st.ignace this is the place they stay. The staff takes such great pride in their guests. The landscape to the view of lake Huron is beautiful, bon fires, volleyball nets lots to keep the families having a great time. They have many different size rooms to accomidate which ever size your family needs. The Cedar Hill Lodge is a great place for family reunions, vacation with multiple families as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlochen, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend here for the pond hockey tournament and had a blast. The rooms are clean. Breakfast was pretty decent. They have a nice pool and hot tub area. The employees and management were very accommodating.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewaterpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for a hockey tournament and were very impressed by the friendly and accommodating staff. The hotel is a little older but still in good shape. The rooms aren't huge but the beds were very comfortable. My only suggested improvement is on the housekeeping. We didn't get our garbage emptied the whole time we were there (Thurs to Sun) so it really piled up, and we found areas that needed a lot of attention under the bed and in between the bed and side tables. The pool and hot tub were a good size and not very busy. The breakfast in the morning was very convenient and had a nice variety of different types of breakfast foods to choose from. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howswedeofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Having all of the hockey teams here to see us is always fun. Our main goal is to provide each and every guest with a comfortable and friendly stay, and we are happy you were able to experience this first hand. We apologize if you feel that housekeeping could have been more thorough, we have corrected the issue from that weekend and appreciate the feedback. Hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onekama, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. Location was great, not downtown but right off the freeway and not far from downtown. A very comfortable two nights. Understand the owner and operators are new management and doing a good it appears. Congrats!!

Room Tip: Wouldn't want to be in the main building if there is a choice, Too close to the highway leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BATTLE CREEK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pleasant accomodations at a good value. We rented two rooms travelling with our daughter's family and they were located very near the indoor pool which was perfect for our grandchildren. The community hot tub located in the pool area was not operating at the time and appeared to be undergoing maintenance. Staff was very friendly and helpful and our rooms were clean. The grounds are large and appeared well maintained. The Lodge was not located in the central business district of St. Ignace but still only minutes away by car to the boat ferrys and shopping. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NONNOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Hill Lodge the night before the Labor Day Bridge Walk this year (last weekend). The price was good. The pool was great and best of all, we could bring out little dog. There was a cook-out for everyone and that was very good too. Everything was close and easy to get to. The desk people were very nice. Check-in was at 3:00 p.m. However, the room was being cleaned and ended up not being ready until almost 3:30 p.m. Actually, the room itself was not that clean and by that I mean there were cob webs with spiders in them above the bed and along the edge of the floor.. The beds were very clean and comfortable. There was not a coffee maker in the room, but a telephone, air conditioner and flat screen TV. All and all, I would stay there again in a minute. It just appeared that they were busy and didn't have enough time to get things done properly. We're already planning on next years bridge walk and hope to have a reservation there again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Hill Lodge

Property: Cedar Hill Lodge
Address: 680 US Highway 2 W, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1743
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Hill Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Hill Lodge is on US-2 at the top of the hill leading into beautiful downtown Saint Ignace. Walking distance to restaurants, ferry lines to Mackinac Island, shops, and downtown attractions. Offering more than just a place to spend the night -- come relax with us and enjoy our amenities, including: Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Free Hot Breakfast, Wifi, Courtyard Garden with Views of Mackinac Island, Bonfires, Grills and Picnic Tables, Volleyball, Tetherball, Shuffleboard, Large Lawn with Lawn Games, Rooms with Private Balcony, Family Suites and Adjoining Rooms available. We are pet friendly, with designated pet-free rooms too. Conference room. Free parking. Parking space for trucks and trailers. Free shuttle to ferry lines and casino. Come relax with us at Cedar Hill Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Cedar Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing