We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"In the heart of St. Ignace, perfect"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boardwalk Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Saint Ignace B&B and Inns
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"In the heart of St. Ignace, perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We enjoy the hospitality and personal attention we get when we visit the Boardwalk Inn. Jim and Kayla take the time to make sure we are comfortable and the rates are very reasonable. This is the only place we stay when we visit St. Ignace.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed two nights. First night had trouble with shower (super low pressure) in room 4 (the only room with two beds). Talked to owner in the morning. She agreed to switch us to rooms 1 & 2 for no additional charge.

Rooms are cozy and nicely decorated. This is more like staying at a relative's house than at a hotel. Bathrooms are small, and sinks are out in the room, but the beds were comfortable and we slept well the second night (first night there were very early risers right above our heads at 3:30 - 5:00 am - ask for a second floor room). Lots of power outlets to charge your devices - even more than in a regular hotel room.

Location is great - you are right downtown and everything is an easy walk - we didn't touch our car until we left. Easy, free parking right along side the building.

Breakfast (this is a B&B) was pretty basic. There are two bins of cereal (O's and flakes), and a microwave for oatmeal. Toasters at each table for bagels and English muffins. Peanut butter & jelly and real butter available. One pot of regular coffee (sorry, no decaf), one pitcher of mixed OJ, and one pitcher of milk. You can also make tea. No real cream, just packs of fake stuff and sugar. Everything is self serve and was the same both weeknights we were there,

Overall a great stay and nice to not be at a chain. Noticed that the property appears to be for sale (big sign propped up in the entryway facing the street).

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to reduce noise from, well, from people upstairs. ;=)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-and-Kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We had a room with a view of the bay and watched the sunrise... worth the extra $. Big drawback was the breakfast. Just bagels, English muffins & cold cereal on a Saturday morning... we picked up food elsewhere. We did enjoy the games in the lobby, room was clean & management is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Ignace, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Boardwalk Inn is located in the heart of St. Ignace across the street from the lake. Everything is just out the front door. Jim and Kayla were very nice hosts. My room was cozy with antiques - definitely not a cookie-cutter hotel. If you're looking for something quaint and charming - you will enjoy this. Thanks for a very pleasant stay! Will definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

In late July, following a family reunion at Homestead Resort near Sleeping Bear Dunes, we decided to extend our stay in Michigan and explore the Upper Peninsula. St. Ignace was selected as our base due to proximity to other points of interest such as Mackinac Island. Of course, lodging was needed so our on-line search put us in touch with the Boardwalk Inn.

Kayla, the owner, suggested that The St. Anthony Suite would be comfortable accommodations for 4. Being from Florida, air conditioning was a priority. AC & en suite bathrooms were features of the suite. (However during the day we did enjoy the fresh air blowing through the curtains while we were away on our adventures.) So we booked... Happy we made that choice!

Upon our late evening arrival, we were greeted warmly by Jim & Kayla. They patiently answered many tourist questions we posed. Our suite was ready, keys issued and bags were tugged to the third floor. Yes, the only real challenge we faced during our stay was "the steps" as there is no elevator. After the 1st day, the stairs became less of a burden ... maybe. We attempted to think of this situation as "good exercise."

The suite adequately met our expectations of comfort and cleanliness. Private sleeping quarters and baths were available + ample room for relaxation and visiting. Continental breakfast was available each am on the second floor in The Fireside Room.

Location, location, location is the best feature of the Boardwalk Inn. Shepler's Ferry was right down the street, restaurants within walking distance and large parking area. Very convenient...

At the end of our busy three days, the Boardwalk Inn looked like home to four weary tourists!
Thank you to both Jim and Kayla for their hospitality and services.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the boardwalk inn because my mom ran it as the travelers hotel in the 70's. Was very clean & helpful. Loved the upgrades done to the property. Even with upgrades it still holds the old time charm. Highly recommend you check it out!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The owners were pleasant, easy to talk with and made us feel welcome. The Inn is like a bed & breakfast but minus the big breakfast like some places but they did have the continental breakfast. We were up and out before that was out. There were plenty of good places to eat within walking distance. We chose to stay in St Ignace, Mi because Mackinaw city hotel prices were ridiculous. The ferries to the island were right there. The Inn faces Lake Huron.We have already told friends & family about the Boardwalk Inn. This was a hotel at one time but they have made each room like your own bedroom at home(well actually it looks alot better than mine) There are also adjoining rooms for familes or couples traveling together. If we come back to the area we would stay there again. Thanks Jim & Kayla. Gary & Cheryl

Room Tip: Tell the owners why your coming and they can recommend the right one for you. It was our anniversary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#10 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Inn

Property: Boardwalk Inn
Address: 316 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1425
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Boardwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing