We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
traverse city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel - Great Value”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Budget Host Inn in St. Ignace on way to Mackinac Island. The place was very clean and front desk cheerful and courteous. Price was very reasonable. They have a pool (indoor) and a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    90
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
134
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I were traveling through northern Michigan and decided to visit the local area including Mackinac Island. The Budget Host seemed to be perfect for a two day stop over. We found it clean and comfortable, close to good restraunts, and the staff was courteous and helpful. We would most certainly stay there again...

Room Tip: It pays to check out places to stay in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked this at the end of our color tour. We found it very clean and within walking distance to the water and grocery store. The place was quiet and even though we had neighbors who smoked outside their rooms we did not smell the smoke-which we appreciated. The places excepting dogs is limited around the bridge but this was a great find and reasonably priced. The breakfast in the morning was sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubrava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for that review. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose to stay at the Budget Host Inn, in St Ignace because previous trips had been so comfortable. Family bought us the first time, but we returned because of the quality and the staff. Inn is located close to downtown, ferries, grocery and restaurants. Open the door and the lake is right across the street. The hot tub and pool were enjoyable and the rooms were clean and orderly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Public Relations Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We appreciate our guest's reviews enormously. Many of our guests return throughout the seasons and through the years. It's fun watching those who used to visit as children, now bringing their children. We look forward to continue serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale Heights, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We visited Mackinaw Island for the first time and decided to stay in St Ignace instead of Mackinaw City because it was a quieter town. Also, we wanted to be in the actual Upper Peninsula of Michigan. We loved our stay. The hotel was clean, welcoming and met all of our needs. The clerks at the front desk were helpful and courteous, the pool was inviting and warm, and the continental breakfast was a great way to start the day. The location was perfect. All we had to do was cross the street and we had two choices for ferries to the island. Will definitely recommend this stay and we hope to be back soon in the near future. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floor. Stay on the front side of the hotel facing the water. You can watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhill59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're glad that you crossed the Mighty Mac and stayed with us here in the Upper Peninsula. Thank you for appreciating our cleanliness and our unique location. We'll see you again, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wonderful staff, very clean and love the pool & the hot tub is shaped like a heart! The staff suggested to go too the falls. It was amazing! Good continental breakfast. Great location! Clean rooms. Great bathroom tube. Great view and loved it! Thanks for the hard work and dedication to your staff and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for complimenting our hard work and dedication to our property. We love what we do and appreciate when our guests recognize it. We're glad you made it to Tahquamenon Falls. It's a "must see"! Thanks again and please come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Budget Host for two nights to visit Mackinaw Island, about a block away from Star Line and Shepler ferry services. Perfect location, 500 feet from shoreline. We had the corner/handicapped room on the lower floor right near the rear entry door with easy, direct access straight to parking lot. Room was very clean, beds were comfortable, had a little refrigerator and coffee pot, AC worked correctly. Bathroom was well supplied. Staff was very courteous and helpful with local info for activities. The pool was especially nice having large sliding windows that allowed the humidity to circulate away from the room. They had the usual sauna/hot tub options with a TV over the hot tub. Normal hotel breakfast including eggs and sausage was complimentary. Our room did have some noise from a neighbor's morning shower, the shower must be against the bedroom wall. The parking lot had just enough spaces for everyone's vehicle, but not an issue.

Room Tip: The handicapped room we were in had a neighbor's shower stall right next to our wall, you will k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very fortunate to be centrally located to events, ferries, museums and shopping. We'd love to see you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#16 of 29 in Saint Ignace
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing