We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Marquette, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Nice Stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed a night here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was great. We had to get a bigger room than we usually do due to availability, but the price was not much more. We also had our dog and the room did not smell of other pets. We had fun in the pool, and the breakfast was quite satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for that review. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    91
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
135
134
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We came to St. Ignace for a wedding, and this was a convenient spot to stay. My wife's large family took a suite and a room, and we got a king room of our own. The first thing that impressed me was the pool, which was kept extremely warm to accommodate the snowmobilers who often stay here. It is equivalent to a hot tub. The rooms are clean and the usual size, and the check-in process was very smooth, although I had my doubts about the place because they still use room keys. One thing to note: When leaving the room, your door automatically locks, without pushing in the manual lock on the inside of the door. In fact, manually locking the room makes it difficult to unlock with your key. The hot breakfast bar is very good, with a wide variety of food. The final piece of above and beyond customer service was in the morning, when a good deal of snow had fallen. I got to my car and the windows had been cleaned off by staff. Left me with a great feeling about Yooper hospitality. Can't wait until the next St. Ignace wedding. Note to snowmobilers: Revving your machines at 7:30 in the morning does not endear you to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. We take pride in the level of service, cleanliness and hospitality of our property and we look forward to making many more reservations for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterling heights
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Of course you always want to get a reasonably priced hotel, but for me cleanliness is at the top of the list. The Budget Host Inn was recommended to me by a co- worker several years ago so we tried it. Bottom line, we stay there every year when we are in the Mackinac City area. We usually get one of the suites with an extra bedroom. The rooms are spotless, they give you a AAA discount on the rooms which are reasonably priced, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. There is a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room, and a few years ago they upgraded the TVs with nice flat screens. The added bonus is that every morning they offer a free breakfast, and not just the typical cold foods like cereal and muffins. They have eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, fruit, and a few different juices plus coffee and tea. You will definitely be filled up before you leave the hotel for your day's activities. I have never had a bad experience here and would highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

Room Tip: For two or three people one of the regular rooms would be fine. If you have four or more people you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasadena5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for that great review of our property. We appreciate the comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed at the Budget Host Inn as a couple and with family and business associates many times over the past 2 years and have been in a variety of room styles both upstairs and down. Using the elevator as needed, we have stayed in rooms from a handicap 2-room suite, or a 3-room suite, to 2 double beds, 2 queens or one king bed single rooms. The beds are nicely dressed with a variety of pillows for individual needs. We usually have our best night's sleep here! Every room has been very clean with well-appointed bathrooms having soaps, shampoo, and lotion, plenty of linens and enjoyable shower heads, also, coffee maker, coffee and water cups and related items. The TV's are large and have full cable service. Internet is easily available, but may require a password, which the staff cheerfully offers. There are also room phones. The FREE continental breakfast which ends at 10 a.m., includes eggs, fruit, cereals (hot and cold), biscuits, sausage gravy, sausage, potatoes, toast, cinnamon toast, milk, juices, teas, and excellent coffee (regular and decaf). Donuts and muffins round out the whole offering. The coffee is available 24-7. The breakfast area is recently enlarged, and with the pool and hot tub adjoining it, breakfast can be taken pool-side as well. The indoor pool is kept at a comfortably warm temperature, and the hot-tub is a huge double-heart shaped relaxing environment with TV viewing in that area. Extra towels in the area help those of us who might forget them. There is an exercise room, a game room, and vending machines available. We enjoy the balcony or exterior rooms, but the interior rooms have plenty of light from large windows. There is an upstairs (or use the elevator) large outdoor balcony overlooking the bay. The views across the street are lovely! Several good restaurants are within walking distance, and several take-out establishments will deliver. The ferry boats for Mackinac Island dock within walking distance. Casino shuttles service the Budget Host Inn with a simple request at the front desk. The Budget Host Inn is on the best side of town for it is a short distance if you wish to drive yourself to Kewadin Odawa Casino. The Inn's staff is absolutely delightful, and some of the most helpful we have experienced. The owners continually keep a schedule of updating and upgrading the Inn such that it never is left in need of repairs or cosmetic attention. If any problem arises, the staff and management do all that they can to remedy the difficulty as quickly as possible. One of the best things for us is the pet-friendly accommodations, both inside and out. A small fee may be charged for the pet, but it is certainly reasonable. Overall, the Budget Host Inn has quality and friendliness beyond what the room costs would suggest, we feel we receive more value for our money when staying here compared to any other. We appreciate having this quality when we are away from home!

Room Tip: Easier access to the Casino since you do not have to go through town. All balcony rooms offer a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sis003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value our guests comments as they enable us to continuously improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

For the price these rooms are hard to beat. The view from the front of the hotel is well worth the price of the stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accept large dogs. Good breakfast, pool and game room.

The carpet felt like it could use a little cleaning or all around replacement. Not dirty just very worn and thin. And due to having doors on both sides of the room it was a little loud.

Overall though, great stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Inn is top to bottom very clean. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished, everything looked new & there was even a large flat screen TV with full cable selection. The front desk staff was extremely accommodating and they serve the best continental breakfast I've ever had. Other larger chain hotel/inns in the area are not nearly as nice. I will be going back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaraway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traverse city
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Budget Host Inn in St. Ignace on way to Mackinac Island. The place was very clean and front desk cheerful and courteous. Price was very reasonable. They have a pool (indoor) and a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StIggyBudHost, Director of Sales at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.5 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#19 of 29 in Saint Ignace
197 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#7 of 29 in Saint Ignace
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Property: Budget Host Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1104
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Saint Ignace
Budget Host Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing