We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for what we got”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K Royale Lakefront Inn
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what we got”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The room was so-so, clean but nothing special. View of the lake is nice. Check in and out was okay. Clerk did the job, not rude but not friendly either. Offered a casino package in advertising but had to ask for it. Decent playground and pool.

Room Tip: Other hotels in area offer same amenities at lower rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avislou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    38
    24
    14
    15
See reviews for
49
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 days while we experienced the U.P. The hotel room was more a home base for storing our stuff, food, and for sleeping at night. There is a nice view, but it is rocky and nowhere to swim. The pool is pretty nice and covered so you can swim even if it is cold or the weather is bad. The rooms were clean. It is true though, There is literally no breakfast and the coffee is not the best, so head to McDonalds or somewhere else for that. However, the room had a refrigerator and microwave, and plenty of room to store your gear. If you are looking for luxury or are spending a lot of time in your room, then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to use as a home base while you explore the U.P, then it is perfect. I would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were traveling back from the northern portion of the UP and needed a place to stay. Most of the hotels we called were full or too expensive. The K Royale was available and within our budget so we decided to sleep there for the night. We were able to easily check-in late in the evening (around 11:30 p.m.). The room was clean, but very outdated. As soon as we opened the door to our room, we were hit by a very strong musty smell. It kind of smelled like Grandma & Grandpa's house used to! We opened the sliding glass door to the patio and kept it open all night to try to get the odor gone. As we were laughing about the hotel, my girlfriend mentioned that it's fine as long as there are no spiders.....wouldn't you know it, she went to take a shower and there was a huge black spider in the bottom of the tub! LOL. We had our own comforter and blankets since we had been camping earlier in the week, so we used those on the bed instead of the bedding provided. It was nice to have a bed to sleep in after a long day of traveling, but I certainly would not go back to this hotel. There was a continental breakfast in the morning. I tried the coffee, but I could see through it and dumped it out. I typically like my coffee a bit stronger. All in all, it is a very affordable hotel but you get what you pay for. If you are looking for an upscale place to stay, this is not it. There was an indoor pool, but we did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neush8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My friends and I stayed here on our way to Mackinaw Island. We thought we would save some money before the big spend there. We accomplished that, but at our comfort. The check ins clerks were less than welcoming, the door was a bear to get open, the rooms were clean, but the beds were uncomfortable. Spend the extra money and go somewhere else. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The price reflects what you get. Breakfast was minimal, juice, toast, english muffin, coco puffs, wheaties, and coffee. No waffle maker, not very many choices.

The room was really outdated. The bed was clean but not all that comfortable. Linens were clean. The door was really hard to open. The door has a deadbolt but only operable from the inside. The key unlocks the bottom lock which is like one of those patio door locks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousAngieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay port
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arrived to K Royale starting our family vacation; first thing that happened was our struggle to get the door open. This place is ancient and trust me; not easy to open the door. I'm not one to complain but the smell was extremely overwhelming after walking into our room. It wasn't just a little smelly; it was drop dead awful! I couldn't even open the window because I broke the frame opening it to air the place out, not to mention there wasn't even a screen. I went to the office and I was very professional in my conduct as I told the person who just checked us in of the problem at hand. I received NO apology; he stared at me and had nothing to say. I ended up getting a refund and staying at Holiday Inn Express; trust me it is more than worth the extra $20!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the K Royale Lakefront Inn for the 1st time over the 4th of July weekend and it had its good points and not so good. The location is ok, convenient to town and the facility had a great lake front view. Check in was strange, the clerk was not very welcoming almost bothered about our arrival. We were told we would be in a double bed room and asked if we could stay in a king room, we were told it would be an additional cost which we declined and regretted later. I thought it was strange that they would charge more, never heard of that before. What made it more strange is there occupancy rate was maybe 50% for the weekend and saw several vacant king rooms? We got to our room and it was nice, the décor was dated, but clean. Bathroom was small but functional. There was a mini frig, tube TV and a microwave (which we found out later was broken) and the 2 double beds. The beds were so old, uncomfortable, and springy we sank to the middle. Seriously pay for the king and hope those beds have more support. We woke up the next morning both of our backs were hurting. We tried the other bed the next night, no different. When we woke up I went to the office to get a couple cups of coffee and a donut at 6:30 and they don’t open till 7:00 so went to town for coffee. It would be nice to have coffee makers in the rooms for early risers. The facilities were ok one building was newer and the other was older in need of some updating. The pool was enclosed and nice for an older pool, well taken care of. The hot tub was nice the 1st day but by the second day there were a ton of kids jumping in and out including parents with their babies in diapers, obviously we did not go back in. There was a common area right on the lake and it could be real nice. I would have thought they would have mowed for the holiday and had lawn furniture other than almost like random office furniture, there was a picnic table though. They did have a nice grill and a couple fire pits. Everything being said we would not go back mainly because of the beds, they hurt !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
1.8 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#19 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Royale Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Royale Lakefront Inn

Property: K Royale Lakefront Inn
Address: 1037 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — K Royale Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KRoyale Lakefront Inn nestled on 700ft of shoreline, all rooms facing Lake Huron, view of Mackinac Island. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves & hairdryers. Some rooms have balconies, other ones walk out to the lakefront. We have play area for children with swings. A fire pit, picnic table and grills. Free shuttles to Mackinac Island boat ferries and casino. Restaurant within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your K Royale Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k-Royale Motor Hotel Saint Ignace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing