We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING! 2 SUMMERS IN A ROW!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village Inn of Saint Ignace
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Shepherd, MI
2 reviews
“OUTSTANDING! 2 SUMMERS IN A ROW!!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The last two summers I have stayed at The Village Inn, in St. Ignace. We were very pleasantly surprised when we saw our room(s) They were very clean, and very affordable! My boyfriend and I had a great time down stairs at the bar, and met some really cool locals to play pool with. It is too expensive to stay on the island, so this is the place that I (we) will stay each time we come up! The staff was very friendly as well, I was very impressed with the service, and honestly, I am pretty hard to impress!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    31
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Eat at the Village Inn!

Amazing food and service. I ate here on leave while battling scurvy and slight dementia. Among many great meals, my favorite light course was the Hey Arnold! sandwich; a literal surface-to-air missile exploding...with flavor.

The Hey Arnold! is like an Iraqi POW protected under the Geneva convention- you just can't beat it. I'd like to see you try!

The bartender, Michelle something-or-other, keeps a tight regimen and a well-stocked cache of liquor, beer and even some girly drinks I won't admit that I tried. I was promptly greeted and never had to wait for a refill. If soldiers were this efficient, I'd never spend 13 hours in a foxhole waiting for ammunition again. Someone give this girl a raise!

Mess hall is clean and orderly. Latrine sparkles with immaculate sanitation. There's even decent lodging upstairs that makes a barracks look like...well, a barracks.

You must try this restaurant. I give the Village Inn of Saint Ignace a "Patton" (or "5 stars," for all you civilians)

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lt_Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed 1 night at the Village Inn and were very pleasantly surprised by our room (balcony straits view). It was HUGE! The room appeared to have been recently completely redecorated, and was very modern, clean, and comfortable. Staff were friendly, everything was very casual and laid back. It was so convenient having the restaurant and bar right downstairs. Our only negative experience was the noise: it's on the busy main street, so there was traffic noise until late at night. Still, for only $80 a night, the room was incredible. A big thank you to the Village Inn for a great time!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We travel to St. Ignace quite often from the Fenton area and always stay at the Village Inn. The accomodations are affordable and clean, clean, clean!!!! The food is great and the staff are great too!!!! We just returned from a weekend trip where 8 of us stayed as well ate there and we all cannot say enough about our wonderful experience there. We would recommend it to anyone and know they would be completely happy!!!! We'll see you next year!!!! Larry, Julie, Liz, Matt, Kat, Jim, Bj & Diana

Helpful?
1 Thank jlewis1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stopped into the restaurant/bar after checking into another overpriced, gross hotel room and discovered (b/c of the super awesome staff) that we could stay upstairs for half the price with a much better view. My husband and I (did I mention this was our honeymoon) had sooooo much fun. The staff was great, free shots, great view and accomodations and the planked whitefish was the best thing I have ever eaten in my 28 years on Earth!!! This place is AWESOME. In fact, we are going back in three weeks!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BreuCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
211 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn of Saint Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Saint Ignace

Property: Village Inn of Saint Ignace
Address: 250 S State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1620
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to serve Mackinac Island visitors, Auto/Truck Show revelers, outdoor sports enthusiasts and local patrons alike, we offer a friendly atmosphere for you to relax and enjoy your time here in Michigan's beautiful and historic Upper Peninsula! Great spot for snowmobilers, we are located near the main UP trail. Offering great facilities for dining, drinking and meeting with your friends, family and colleagues. Our restaurant serves a wide variety of regional cuisine, and is home to the famous "Planked Whitefish." Come Check us out! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing