We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updates and attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed 2 September 2014

For the price we paid it was not bad but the room definitely needed a better cleaning job. I had to clean the room before staying and we were moved the next night. The refrigerator was dirty, table had grease on it, dead bugs on window and room wall, live bug crawling on garbage can. Room we were moved to the next night was cleaned excellent. Staff very nice and tried to make experience better. Room was quiet. There is no front desk help overnight...they are located at the sister hotel across the road. It was explained to me that they had just hired new cleaning crews and they were still in training and they were young people and needed to be monitored better. This place is pet friendly. One tip I will give anyone traveling....always bring a can of Lysol and antibacterial wipes with you...a hotel cleans but you never know who was there last.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for....however....the area we were in the rates were pretty much all the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broomzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry you were disappointed in your first room. Anything but spotless is unacceptable and I'm glad you found that to be true when you were moved the second night. We always have someone available to our guests and am happy to hear you found them to be very helpful. Thanks for staying and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great location for a brief stopover, rather than a resort vacation.Convenient to downtown and all the attractions. Motel style building with cars in the center forecourt means it can be noisy until everybody is in their rooms at night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Like you, we enjoy our location because it is close to town yet far enough away to be out of the downtown, busy area. Our building is a horseshoe shape and the parking lot can be a bit busy at times but we rarely have issues with noise. We have someone available to handle any issues or complaints 24/7. I'm glad you found us to be a great jump-off point for a vacation in our town. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The carpet was torn, the bathroom wallpaper was peeling at the seams, and the bathroom door hinges were rusty. The room was very small. The bed was comfortable though and the breakfast was good. Location was not bad.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed you were not satisfied with your stay. We are continuously doing renovations to update our building/business. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found our beds to be comfortable, however, and I hope you can try us again. Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this as an express deal on Priceline. Got a fair price and had a really nice stay.

Pros: The pool was great, it was a welcomed treat for us and the kids after a long car ride. The room was clean. We had a quiet stay. Friendly staff, especially the front desk lady! Good breakfast.

My only complaint: beds were not very comfortable, older and worn out.

Helpful Tip: not sure you can count on late check in. Front desk staff leave at 11pm. You should call ahead if you are going to need a late check in to be sure that is even possible.

Final: I would recommend this hotel, good value. Would probably stay again despite the old worn beds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tomsuelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and the great review. I'm glad you liked the pool and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry the beds were not to your liking but it is hard to please everyone when it comes to their mattress preference (some like firm and some like soft). Our front desk staff leaves at 11 pm on weekdays and 12 am on Fridays and Saturdays, however, we own the motel directly across the street and there is someone there 24 hours a day to assist the late night travelers. We never have issues with late arrivals, we leave instructions on our office door directing any late arrivals where to check-in. There is always someone available by phone to help with anything you need. Thanks again for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Our trip plans changed a little and we didn't have a reservation for one night in St Ignace. Every place in town had no vacancy signs. We walked I thinking we would hear no and they just had an opening as I walked through the door. The place was full but we didn't hear anyone. Very, very friendly front desk staff! Close to the casino. Clean and well kept.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pjcarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for the nice review! I'm glad you found our staff friendly, helpful and everything to be clean. I'm happy we had a place for you on a busy weekend. Thanks for staying and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Even though the front desk was very friendly and helpful, we felt very dissatisfied. As we pull up to our room the door was open as they were just cleaning it. Since it was on the first floor, a chipmunk ran into the room. Someone had to chase it out. That was unnerving right there.The beds were hard and uncomfortable. It had an old musty smell in room and my friend had to take an allergy pill. There were 3 bugs climbing on the wall that we had to kill. Then we were told we should have wi- fi in the rooms but there was none. We had to step outside and walk near the office to get wi- fi. A very disappointing stay. I would have asked for another room but was told they were sold out as was every other motel along the way. We will not stay there again. Way overpriced for such outdated rooms. Even the carpet was torn and wearing away. Couldn't wait to leave out of that room with bugs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I'm very sorry your were dissatisfied with your stay. We have a contract with a bug/pest control company that sprays monthly for nature's little nuisances, so we do try to stay on top of that issue. We are consistently making updates to our rooms to keep our guests happy and satisfied with their stay. I'm glad that our front desk staff was very helpful to you and I hope you give us another try someday. Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Rooms are nice and clean, continental breakfast was included in the reasonable rate. Even though we liked the room and the hotel's location, the breakfast room is far too small for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia_Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly C, Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I'm happy you found our motel to be very clean and reasonably priced. The breakfast room can seem small at times but we do have picnic tables outside for people to enjoy on nice days. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
2 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#17 of 29 in Saint Ignace
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 1074 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1011
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Price Range: £58 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to America's Best Value Inn of St. Ignace, offering spacious and comfortable hotel rooms at very affordable rates. All rooms have queen or king size beds, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, hair dryers, and cable TV. Some rooms also have whirlpool spas. A full kitchen suite is also available and guests must call direct to reserve. Guests can enjoy a free breakfast bar, high speed wireless Internet, as well as other amenities such as indoor pool, whirlpool spa, sundeck, and coin laundry. Close to shopping, local attractions, and restaurants, with complimentary shuttles to nearby Mackinac Island ferry docks and Kewadin Shores Casino. In addition to the casino and ferry dock shuttle services, we also offer ferry discounts, and the popular Mackinaw Money Bag. Inquire at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing