We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
1 review
“Wonderful Stay and excellent service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our first time staying anywhere in the state of Michigan and it was a very good experience. I had considered staying in Mackinaw City but am very glad we went to Bavarian Haus in Saint Ignace instead. This hotel was very nice and up close to the lake with a wonderful view. There was breakfast every morning and they have a balcony where we sat at and enjoyed the sunrise while eating our breakfast. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi was great as well. We definitely took advantage of that. The service at this hotel is second to none! These folks went out of there way to help us out. We bought a bottle of wine at one of the local shops and took it back to the hotel to eat with our Pasties (pah-stees). We didn't have a cork remover for the wine bottle so we called the staff and they didn't have one but went to the super market and bought one for us! Where else do you get that kind of service? We were very impressed and will stay there next time we visit.

Room Tip: If you have kids you may want to stay on the second floor since this is where the breakfast dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi, Ray! What a lovely review -- thank you for sharing those great details with us! Above all, we want you to feel well taken care of. It's our pleasure to make sure that happens, whether it's extra towels or a corkscrew!

I hope you had a blast visiting Michigan and taking in the beautiful sights and sounds! We'll see you the next time you make the trip to the UP.

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    123
    58
    35
    12
See reviews for
149
152
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Let's start by saying that, when we checked in, the young man at the front desk was so helpful and nice! We asked about a local restaurant and not only did he tell us where to find it, he searched for a menu as well. He told us where to find our room and how breakfast worked. Our room was spectacular. Beautiful view of the lake and Mackinack Island. This may seem weird, but my husband and I are fairly tall people and your typical hotel shower required us to do elaborate back bends to wash our hair and I was more than happy to discover a shower head that was taller than me. There are so many great things about this place that made our weekend priceless and we will definitely return for future visits.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here several years back when it was a Days Inn. It was an excellent place to stay then and just as nice now! The rooms are big, clean and the view is fantastic! Very quiet. Enjoyed watching the owners dog play in the lake for hours on end. Black Lab Rosie. Staff is very attentive to our needs. Will not stay any where else is we come up here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penni0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We had a balcony overlooking the lake. We were in St. Ignace to visit Mackinac Island, and this hotel worked out very well for our needs. The owners were very nice, and if we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stay here! Very pleased!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Booked our room sight unseen, but it was one of the cleanest rooms I have seen. Very friendly service people. willing to help you find resturants, shopping, anything you may need. Great continental breakfast and was served until 10:00, that was nice.
I plan on booking a 2 day stay next time with my grandchildren.This motel offers alot for the buck.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyhipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wound up staying here at the last minute when our connection to Mackinac Island didn't come through because of the weather. We were pleased to be able to find rooms for our entire party and the nice folks at the front desk sold us postcards and helped us get oriented to a place none of us were really familiar with. I had a room that was a little noisy because of the wind and I asked for and was given a quieter room with no problems at all. Enjoyed having coffee available in the common space and everything was very clean and just like you'd hope to find in an overnight accommodation.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter. If you want dark, go for a room with a solid no-window door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessamyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, Jessamyn. We understand it can be stressful when your vacation doesn't go according to plan, so it was our pleasure to have you in for the night. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Mackinac Island. We'd love to welcome you back the next time you visit from Vermont!

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family had an all-around great experience at the Bavarian Haus in St. Ignace, MI. When we were choosing which side of the Mighty Mac to stay at, Lower or Upper Peninsula, we decided to go "Yooper". It was a great choice. U.P hospitality is (we feel) second to none! The view of Mackinac Island, cleanliness, breakfast bar, pool area, and the hospitality were all exceptional. Here's a quick example of the hospitality...While checking in I casually mentioned my family's desire to watch the Red Wings game that night, but wasn't sure about the cable channels in St. Ignace. I was taken back when our room phone rang and the desk manager was calling with the time and channel of the game. Pretty nice. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: It appears all the rooms have the same amazing view of the island and straits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWoo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I may be biased, but Yooper is always the way to go! You can't beat the U.P. charm, eh? Jokes aside, I'm thrilled to read about your stay. It sounds like our team took excellent care of you, which is great. The next time you wander south from Marquette, we'd love to have you back in!

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Property: Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Address: 1067 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing