We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Motel(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Lakefront(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vitek's Motel(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Motel(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
161
135
59
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
135
59
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake huroncontinental breakfastrooms face the watersausage pattiestoaster waffleswould stay here againbeautiful viewlarge bathroomfirst floorthe breakfast areaoff seasonfire pitstaff was very friendlymini fridgehot tubbeds were comfortableupper peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stopped by this hotel after our first choice was full. ( duh, I thought how could they be full, major car show was answer..lol)
This hotel was a great value at just about about a hundred dollars a night. Rooms were very clean, and very, very big, I really was shocked at how big, lots of extra room for coolers and all the stuff we drag on vacation. LoI. The room has 2 Queen beds, a mid size table and a big 4 drawer dresser. The bathroom sink and mirrors are separated from the bathroom and shower and the sink area is big enough for leaving makeup bags and there is a hair drier. There is a big closet are for hanging 12 items. A coffee maker has 2 bags each of reg and decaf. There are 2 tea bags and the normal bags of stirrers and sugar.
Few nice surprises are a really nice info packet of things going on in Saint Ignace. A pack of playing cards in drawer, that obvisoley should be left for next guest.
They're are MAJOR swarms of flying assorted bugs at night, and each room has a warningg about leaving windows and doors open. DON'T. Its right at waters edge, and you have amazing views from the windows and patios during the day. At night,bugs fly. No amount of spray by hotel will stop it. Much, As they have to abide by government regulations around the water.
Free breakfast is basic, but ok. It will fill you up, no kids have cereal and toast. There is also sausage, biscuits fruit and bagels.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff is kind, knowledgeable and willing to help with any needs.
Pool is warm, and hot tub was hot. Great for a after island swim, it's open to 12. There is a separate hot tub for adults, in a separate room, a wonderful thing, as kids flock to hot tubs like bugs..in summer. Lol. All swim and hot tubs have huge windows to see outside.
A no brainer to stay here. Compare price and what you get. You can get cheaper, but I'd rather sleep in a clean bed, amazing views, and lots of space.

Room Tip: All rooms seen to be great. For huge rooms, get a triple queen. Small countries aren't this big! All rooms over see the island, go higher for best view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphy1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us so much! Thank you for taking the time to share all of those great details. You're right -- the bugs do come out at night around our area, but we hope you had plenty of time to enjoy the lake during the day! We hope to see you back in during your next trip to Lake Huron.

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had reserved a room with two beds for two adults. A third person came with us at the last minute. During check-in I asked to change the reservation to three and requested a roll away bed. The extra charge was to be $11.50 which was acceptable to us, but the person at the front desk asked us if we wanted a room with three beds for $10.00 additional instead. We accepted the upgrade and were delighted with our three queen beds in one of the largest rooms I have ever seen. All staff were very helpful and the room was very clean and had a balcony and a view of the lake, however the bugs were so bad we could not use our balcony. That time of year in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Hotel was a bit shabby and the complimentary breakfast was only average but we would definitely stay here again and request the triple queen room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I'm so glad that we could upgrade you to a bigger room and get you all settled in! We always want our guests to have a truly memorable experience, so it was our pleasure. You can't beat that lake view either, right? I'm sorry to hear that the continental breakfast didn't hit he spot, though. If you have any additional comments or input about it, don't hesitate to reach out.

The next time you're visiting the UP, we'd love to welcome you back in! We hope to see you soon.

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The young men at the front desk were very helpful and check in was quite easy even though they were training a new person. Nice view of the lake and Mackinaw Island. Spacious room and very clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macilnd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! It sounds like our team took great care of you, which is excellent. I hope you had a blast visiting St. Ignace and Mackinaw Island!

Until next time,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A bit rundown. Playground equipment unsafe. Pool so murky that a child could be on the bottom and never be seen.
Overall the place worked but we don't need to stay here again. We will try another hotel with a higher rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tearsofjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. I wish we would have had the chance to chat during your visit, because someone on our team would be happy to address any issues right away. Our hard working maintenance and cleaning crew is there to make sure our pool is crystal clear -- I can assure you that it's cleaned and tested regularly. Additionally, while some bugs travel in when patios are open, they should never come through the screen. This is certainly something we'll look into.

I'm sorry that these mishaps put a damper on our stay. If you have any additional comments or questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

Thank you,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious. Very clean without the chemical smell. Amazing view of Lake Huron with a patio out back. Huge bathtub/jacuzzi tub big enough for two! Nice TV. Very comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was sort of odd but suitable. Biscuits were not quite thawed but warm enough. Sausage gravy in a croxkpot. There was a mother/daughter? team serving/bickering and carrying on. Just kind of strange. Amusing at best. We would for sure stay here again. Great price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AngelaVO326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi, Angela! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You can't beat those beautiful views of Lake Huron, right? I hope you had a wonderful time visiting the area. We'll see you next time!

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews