We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western mackinaw ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great Place to stay for a couple nights, especially if day tripping to Mackinaw Island. Breakfast was the usual for hotels, decent. Nice views, and 2 good pools. If you're looking for a quick dinner Clyde's or driftwood inn restaurant were good.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank momorang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our stay at this hotel was only for one night but it was very nice. We had a small balcony which we used to sit and relax while we looked at beautiful Lake Huron. It was clean, roomy and they had a nice breakfast. This would be a nice place to bring your kids also. They had a large grassy area, a fire pit for nighttime s'mores or relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here on 6/30/14 with my husband & daughter. Nice, clean hotel - could use a little updating, but overall a nice place to stay. I was a little disappointed by the lakefront area. It would be nice if they cleaned up the shoreline, laid down some sand and made it a beach area.

Room Tip: If I stayed here again, I would not waste the extra money to get a lakeview room - it's not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights at the St. Ignace Best Western on the Lakefront. It was over a weekend on Friday and Saturday nights. I had a wonderful stay here, and everything was excellent. It was one of the more pricy hotels on my vacation this time, but I felt it was well worth it. This was my 3rd time vacationing in the St. Ignace/Mackinaw City/Mackinac Island area. For some reason, I have always preferred St. Ignace as my lodging destination. This was my 2nd time staying at Best Western in St. Ignace, with my first time being about 10 years ago. I have also stayed at Holiday Inn Express and Quality Inn up the road, and I think that Best Western is my favorite choice of those 3. I had an excellent weekend, and really was sad to have to leave on Sunday morning!

I arrived to check in on Friday afternoon, pretty much right at 3:00, when check-in begins. Lots of people seemed to have the same idea, as it was packed in the lobby area at the front desk. I was waiting behind 5 or 6 people at the desk. However, 4 staff members were checking guests in, so the line went pretty fast. I was quickly checked in and on my way to the room. I had a lake view room with king bed in the Superior building on the 2nd floor. What an awesome room! The room was clean and comfortable for starters. I absolutely loved sitting out on my balcony to look at the lake. I spent lots of time relaxing on the balcony! Of the 4 buildings with rooms, Superior is probably the furthest from the lake, but I still really enjoyed my view. I had a nice view of the northern edge of Mackinac Island and Lake Huron. I was expecting to be closer to the lake, like in the Huron or Ontario building, but it was still a lake view and I felt it was adequate. After all, they said "lake view" not "lake side". I actually enjoyed that I got to "people watch" too with being further back. I spent lots of time Friday afternoon/evening sitting on my balcony. I was on Mackinac Island most of Saturday, but did get back to the hotel in time to watch the fireworks from my balcony. I didn't have the best view of those, but they were still cool to see! I loved the room with balcony and lake view, and it was hard tearing myself away on Sunday!

I also enjoyed using both the outdoor and indoor pools during my stay. These are both obviously "hits" with the children that stay here, but they are spacious enough that I was not bothered by them. The outdoor pool is huge, and so is the outdoor hot tub. I loved sitting in the outdoor hot tub. It was nice and comfortable with the cool breeze on Saturday night! A fitness room is available, but I did not use it. The breakfast was also very good both mornings. They have a nice selection of hot and cold items. There is tons of seating in the breakfast area, both inside and on an outdoor patio. No complaints about the breakfast; it is always nice having a free breakfast right at the hotel and saving money from having to eat out somewhere. There is also a bonfire every night at 9 PM down by the lake. I went down one of the nights and watched from the balcony the other night. This is a cool thing for a hotel to do! I loved it. I enjoyed the various amenities at this hotel. I also liked that I could walk everywhere from here. I literally parked my car Friday at 3:00 and did not get in it again until Sunday morning when I left. There are several wonderful restaurants within walking distance, and the ferry lines are within walking distance. It was nice to save on some gas and stay out of the car for a few days. I get so couped up in the car at times on vacation that it is nice to leave it behind for a while!

All in all I had a great weekend here; it went too fast! People who do not like walking outside between buildings might not like the set-up of this hotel, but I found the set-up really neat. It was like a little hotel community! I usually am not a fan of exterior corridors, like the Superior building has, but I did not mind it here. It would be nice if the Superior building had an elevator because I had to haul luggage up and down the stairs to the 2nd floor, but if that is my only complaint, this hotel must be doing something right! I believe the only building with an elevator is Ontario. This is now my go-to choice in St. Ignace, and I will be back when visiting this region again some time! I would highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to stay if you love a beautiful view, comfortable room, at a affordable price. The only thing was the other guests that fed the seagulls from their balcony early in the morning waking us up, but that was not the hotel's fault. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed just one night with 2 children....
The only issue this hotel has really is the separation of the buildings....it was raining(of course)..so you have a 5 minute walk in the rain to breakfast or to the indoor swimming pool(and back) ....no problem depending on weather.....we stayed in the ontario building (furthest away) They have multiple buildings but no rooms in the main building with lobby. We stayed in a hotel type room with an elevator and a private balcony but there are motel type rooms in other buildings (side by side)without balconies.

Great view, clean rooms.. good breakfast, good location (short walk to everything) A little more expensive than most places in st ignace.....but really st ignace is very reasonable for lodging.

Staff friendly and engaging........big breakfast area to eat....plenty of seating

Room Tip: Ontario building is the only lakeside rooms........other buildings are lakeview rooms but not on lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kozmonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We took our family on a vacation in northern Michigan. This was a great place to start our UP adventure. We were able to spend time in St. Ignace, go to Mackinac Island, head up to Tahquamenon Falls and Pictured Rocks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.6 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront

Address: 797 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: £66 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront!Guests searching for a true getaway have found it at our St. Ignace accommodations, where two heated pools and the best in hospitality are waiting.St. Ignace hotels are known for being the ultimate family getaway, but we raise the bar with a free hot breakfast featuring all of your favorite morning treats. With a convenient location to Mackinac Island, you’ll be in the midst of the most beautiful region in Michigan. Mackinac hotels aren’t just a great escape, but the perfect place for romance.Visit the stunning Tahquamenon Falls or slip away to Mackinaw City and discover some of the best dining and shopping options in the region. Mackinac Island hotels are designed with your comfort in mind, whether you’re looking for rejuvenation or adventure. At Fort Mackinac, service men and women can quickly commute back and forth from our property, and when staying with us, even business trips are injected with a dose of surrealism.On our eleven-acre resort style property overlooking Mackinac Island, you’ll experience the best of both worlds. Conveniently located close to the Mackinac Island ferries, restaurants, shopping and all northern Michigan attractions, you can spend the mornings antiquing and the afternoon strolling around the island. The friendliest staff members in town are always on hand to ensure your trip is the best it can be.From luxurious bedding to spacious, comfortable rooms, you’ll feel right at home when staying at our St. Ignace hotel. If you’d like some recommendations on places to go and dining, simply ask one of our helpful staff members. As local ambassadors, we’re happy to share a local’s perspective on just what makes the region so special.Book a stay at BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Harbour Pointe Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Harbour Pointe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing