We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a reat Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room was did not have a lot of space but it was fine. We left the sliding door open all night and the breeze coming in felt really good and listening to the waves made us think we were on the ocean. I do think it was a little expensive for the room but you are at a tourist area. Their breakfast was one of the best breakfasts included in the room price that you will find. There were eggs, sausage, biscuits, sausage gravy, cereal, etc. They also had hot cinnamon buns that were very tasty. It was a little crowded in the breakfast area but tables turn over quite quickly.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that faces the water. Nothing is more peaceful than listening to the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were very happy with our room at this hotel. We were able to request a large room with plenty of space for all 6 of us. The staff was friendly, and the pool and hot tub were nice. The breakfast area was very crowded both mornings, but the breakfast itself was fine. The location of the hotel was great in relationship to the ferry docks for Mackinack Island.

My primary disappointment was that I was under the impression, from pictures and the website, that there would be an actual beach area at the hotel. We were quite excited to get a first floor room that opened up onto the courtyard and overlooked the lake....until we actually stepped out there. The courtyard and area between the hotel and lake were absolutely covered with droppings and feathers from seagulls and geese. It was, frankly, disgusting. We tried to make our way down to the water, but it seemed very unsanitary for my kids to be barefoot - you could hardly take a step without landing in goose poo. Yuck! Moreover, the "beach" area was actually one tiny little muddy, rocky spot - most of the shoreline was overgrown with weeds and you couldn't get right up to the lake. There was a sandy area with a firepit (again, the whole thing was covered in droppings), but the firepit was full of broken glass, so we avoided that area as well.

Overall, the interior of the hotel was fine, the outside was not.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BuckeyeMamaof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear BuckeyeMamaof4,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and our staff.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the beach area. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our number one criteria is cleanliness. This hotel gets high marks for that. The Front Desk staff was not so accomadating. We arrived after the 3:00 check-in time and were told our room still wasn't ready! We were not happy about that. The cleaning staff and breakfast bar staff were much better. I wanted to swim laps before the official pool opening time, and a staff member allowed it. That was nice. Another staff member got me the extra towels we needed quickly. She was from housekeeping. We loved our room, except the bathroom was small. The living area and terrace were very nice. I can't say enough about how clean this hotel was. Big positive! The breakfast area is small for the size of the hotel. We had to take our food back to the room with us because there was no place to sit in the breakfast area. The pool was warm and clean. although the chlorine level was so high it made our eyes red. Hot tub was clean and hot. Overall, we would reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindiB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear CindiB53,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and housekeeping.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the front desk service which was unacceptable. We will address this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for three nights. We really enjoyed our room overlooking the bay. The room and bathroom was very clean. The breakfast, especially the cinnamon rolls, was also very good. Although it was a little pricey, we would return when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We really loved this hotel. We had a suite and it was newly updated on the fourth floor. Room was very clean, the balcony and chairs were a nice plus to sit and watch the water, ducks and even rain. We were really comfortable there. It was pricey but we expected that as all the hotels in the area of U.P. were in this range. We didn't eat breakfast and my husband went down for coffee he said it was the same average fare you would normally find but if you were hungry and needed breakfast it was available. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were friendly. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: book the bay view if you want to see the water it states so right on the page otherwise you will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was nice, location was great (near the ferries) and the breakfast was decent. The man running the breakfast was very efficient and friendly. We were on the top floor which was great since the hotel was full and very busy. My only complaint is that I was concerned about the bill under my door in the morning since I had booked this hotel using Orbitz, the matter was effficiently taken care of by the Manager who happened to be at the front desk in the morning. I would stay here again....

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 516Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have chosen this property many times before, usually with good results.Not this time. Made reservation 6/18 for a 3 day stay, starting 7/31. Requested a room on the highest floor (4th) and 2 or 3 doors from the elevator. Plenty early enough for my request to be honored, right? Wrong. I was put in room 316, which is on the 3rd floor, and quite aways from the elevator. Even though I have platinum status in the chains "priority club", they couldn't find a way to give me the room location I'd requested. Upon checking in, I was told "we're very full tonight, and this is the best we could do". When I got to my room I found many of the electronic items not woking ( weren't plugged in ) no pad or pen for notes or reminders, and I had to call maintenance because the lock on the door to the balcony would not work. Finally, when preparing to checkout, I noticed my bill had mysteriously jumped from $607 to $782. very dissapointed. Management needs to take more care in honoring special requests, and room readiness.

Room Tip: Don't bother. You'll get what they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HARRY_LOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Unfortunately during peak season we cannot guarantee special requests. Our hotel is full or nearly full every night and when there are many people staying for multiple nights there are times when we do not have specific rooms available.

If there is an issue with your bill please contact me directly at the hotel and I would be more than happy to help in anyway I can.

Once again thank you for the review and thank you for staying with us.

Rachel
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front

Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free Wi-Fi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing